Skip to main content

Information About Charlotte - Macclesfield tutor -

Profile Picture

Charlotte's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Charlotte:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Religious Studies

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Drama

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Media / Communication Studies

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Charlotte

Personal Description:

I have a Masters degree in English from Cambridge University as well as a second Masters in Creative Writing. I worked for the BBC for nearly ten years - most recently as a producer for Radio Four, Radio Three and the World Service. I am also a mother of two young children.

I am now a freelance writer and journalist but I also have a passion for education and I am vice chair of governors at St John's CofE Church School in Bollington. I enjoy supporting and encouraging other people's learning and sharing my expertise. Subjects I tutor are:

ENGLISH
English is my principal subject. I tutor GCSE students in English literature and language and in creative writing. I teach English Literature to A Level. I also offer one-off help with important pieces of writing - such as UCAS forms, CVs and application letters etc.

MEDIA STUDIES
As a print journalist and radio broadcaster I can offer support, careers advice and tuition to students of the media.

RELIGIOUS STUDIES
Much of my programme-making at the BBC has been in the Religion and Ethics department where I have developed a strong specialism in religious affairs both internationally and in the UK. I have an A-grade A Level in Religious Studies and I specialised in the intersection between literature and theology during my English degree at Cambridge.

DRAMA
I tutor students of drama/theatre studies up to A Level. I have an A-grade A Level in Theatre Studies and I have taught drama in various community contexts (from children in the mountains of Ecuador to inmates at Wormwood Scrubs Prison). In 2007 I completed an MA in Creative Writing which focussed on drama.

Tutoring Experience:

I've worked as a private tutor with over a dozen families since 2013.

I also worked as a teacher and tutor in various community settings in the first couple of years after my graduation - most significantly teaching English, maths and drama to inmates at two London prisons and teaching literacy, drama and English as a Foreign Language in Ecuador - both to impoverished children and street children and to adult and teenage learners in a private language school.

Since I decided to make my career in the media I have continued to share my expertise with young people. I've mentored students and graduates trying to break into the media, run training sessions for the Young Journalists Academy and been a judge for the national sixth form debating competition 'Debating Matters'.

I have a strong understanding of current education policy and I am an active governor at a local primary school.

Tutoring Approach:

I want students to come out of our tuition sessions feeling confident about what they can do and inspired by what they have already achieved. In my own education again and again I made my greatest leaps forward when a teacher made the effort to really listen to me, to engage with my aspirations and to offer me constructive criticism, based on really believing in me.

I listen, I encourage, I empathise. But I am also honest, precise and clear. A first session might focus more on the student's feelings and emotions surrounding the subject. Sometimes students go from excelling in a particular field to falling behind for no obvious reason. Taking the time to understand what might have contributed to that change can be a first step to setting things right. Real breakthroughs in education always come from the student choosing to learn. I can't do it for you but if you want to work with me then I can help you.

I'm quite busy with with freelance writing work at the moment so I'm taking on fewer new students. I prioritise those who are happy to work in two-hour sessions (although these sessions don't have to be every week - I'm happy to book them fortnightly, monthly or just on an ad hoc basis).

I will travel up to four miles for a two-hour tuition session. If you need me to travel significantly further than four miles then we might need to agree a fee to cover my time and travel expenses. I am happy to offer one-hour tutoring sessions via Skype.

Please note that I need 24 hours notice if you need to cancel or move a tuition appointment. Sessions cancelled without due notice may be subject to a cancellation fee.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Bolton (2007) - Creative Writing (drama) (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Cambridge (Peterhouse) (2005) - English (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Presdales School, Hertfordshire (1997) - A Level in Theatre Studies - grade A (School) (✔ On File)
  • Presdales School, Hertfordshire (1997) - A Levels in English and Religious Studies - both grade A (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Macclesfield English tutor, Macclesfield Religious Studies tutor, Macclesfield Drama tutor, Macclesfield Media / Communication Studies tutor, Macclesfield Primary English tutor, Macclesfield Secondary English tutor, Macclesfield GCSE English tutor, Macclesfield A-Level English tutor, Macclesfield University English tutor, Macclesfield Casual Learner English tutor, Macclesfield Primary Religious Studies tutor, Macclesfield Secondary Religious Studies tutor, Macclesfield GCSE Religious Studies tutor, Macclesfield Casual Learner Religious Studies tutor, Macclesfield Primary Drama tutor, Macclesfield Secondary Drama tutor, Macclesfield GCSE Drama tutor, Macclesfield Casual Learner Drama tutor, Macclesfield Primary Media / Communication Studies tutor, Macclesfield Secondary Media / Communication Studies tutor, Macclesfield GCSE Media / Communication Studies tutor, Macclesfield Casual Learner Media / Communication Studies tutor