Skip to main content

Information About Charlotte - Sheffield tutor

Profile Picture

Charlotte's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Charlotte:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Psychology

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Charlotte

Personal Description:

Having worked within education for 6 years now, it is clear that I love what I do. I am passionate about alleviating barriers to education so that everyone is able to achieve their goals. I specialise in supporting students with additional educational needs but, equally, I am committed to working with students who simply want to improve in a subject, or even are excelling in a subject and want to go beyond what is being taught in their classroom.

Through my professional and voluntary experience I have received training in a range of areas that enable me to provide flexible tuition services. This includes; SEN, behaviour management, safeguarding, the national curriculum and disability awareness. I am also accustomed to working with vulnerable groups, such as children in care. I have a current and valid DBS (CRB) check which is registered with the update service.

I am a confident maths and English tutor, having tutored this for 6 years now. As a graduate in BSc Psychology, with an A at A Level, I also provide Psychology tuition for students studying to a GCSE level. In addition, I provide tuition for adults and children who are learning English as a foreign language. Teaching English as a second language is something I have substantial experience in, having taught English to both adults and children in remote rural communities abroad. These students typically had little or no foundation knowledge of the English language and so I am a suitable tutor for students who do not yet have conversational English.

My proudest achievement to date is being awarded the University of Sheffield's 'Championing Diversity' prize. This is awarded to one graduate from the university per year who has shown continued commitment to tackling issues of diversity, on a local, national and international scale. I am incredibly proud to have been the graduate to receive this award in 2017 as it reflects my suitability to work with vulnerable and diverse groups, with respect and understanding.

Tutoring Experience:

- Full-time Level 2 Teaching Assistant. I provided 1 : 1, small group and classroom support for children aged 11 - 18 with additional needs.

- As a teaching assistant I had the additional responsibility of planning and delivering maths interventions for Y7 and Y8 pupils who did not meet the national standard of maths at the end of primary school.

- Private tutor travelling to student's houses. Pupils have been aged 5, 7, 8 and 17.

- Maths and English (including phonics, reading, writing, comprehension and handwriting) tuition for children aged 3 to 16. This was for 4 and a half years with a well known national children's tuition company.

- Teaching English abroad as a second language, in Nicaragua and Laos. Working with ages 5 through to 35+.

- Private tuition for an ambitious year 10 student struggling to meet required grades for college study.

- Supporting year 9 pupils who were at academic risk, in weekly 1:1 meetings.

Tutoring Approach:

As a tutee or parent, you can expect an active, engaging and dedicated tutor. I approach tutoring sessions with a positive attitude to learning and am committed to making it as fun as possible. I have always found that, if a student is not making progress, a little creativity and fun can lead to massive improvement. As such, I will always ensure that my approach fits the personality and learning styles of the tutee, with a willingness to adapt sessions to whichever way works best.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Sheffield (2017) - 2:1 BSc Psychology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • The Boswells School Academy and Sixth Form College (2013) - A*, A, A (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Sheffield Maths tutor, Sheffield English tutor, Sheffield Psychology tutor, Sheffield Special Needs tutor, Sheffield English (Foreign Language) tutor, Sheffield Primary Maths tutor, Sheffield Secondary Maths tutor, Sheffield Primary English tutor, Sheffield Secondary English tutor, Sheffield GCSE English tutor, Sheffield Secondary Psychology tutor, Sheffield GCSE Psychology tutor, Sheffield Primary Special Needs tutor, Sheffield Secondary Special Needs tutor, Sheffield Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Sheffield Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Sheffield GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Sheffield Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor