Skip to main content

Information About Charles - Whitby tutor -
(3 reviews)

References

This is how 2 referees rated Charles:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £22.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £18.00
13 Plus £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £18.00

Map Location

Map for Charles (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

Hello there.
If you're looking for a home tutor, it's because you've had the intelligence to realise that some extra support will be good for you: I think perhaps the most important thing to tell you about myself therefore is that I can help. I have been a home tutor for over 20 years now and worked with students aged literally from 7 to 77! I have helped a young lad who had missed so much school, he couldn't spell his own name: he was reading after a year; I've helped with a Master's Degree dissertation: she got a Distinction; and I have worked with so many students inbetween. I am not of course a miracle worker and all I can do is enable you to do as well as you can but I would be very happy to help.

Tutoring Experience:

I actually trained as a primary school teacher because I felt primary teachers teach because they like children while some secondary school teachers teach because they like their subject. The trouble was that I kept feeling I could really help a particular student with a particular challenge if only I had the time but with all the other children in the class, I never had that time. So I became a home tutor where I know I will be able to focus just on what is troubling you and on what you need to do to move forward.
I have also been lucky enough to spend ten years working with out-of-school children, from the excluded to the school-phobic, so I have been able to work to overcome a huge variety of barriers to learning - which is partly why I believe I will be able to help you too.

Tutoring Approach:

Education cannot always be fun because we all need to know and do things which can be pretty boring. However it is a good feeling when we get things right and I believe most people like to think. One of my favourite sayings is "Intelligence is not what you know: it is what you do when you don't know" and a lot of my tutoring is about helping students to free their brains and to think instead of getting bogged down.
My approach to tutoring then is to aim to make you be able to see the interesting stuff in as much of the work as possible; and in fact there are even interesting bits in Maths tables! And once you're more interested, you'll succeed more and things will get better.

Qualifications:

  • Westminster College Oxford (1986) - PGCE Primary (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Sussex Brighton (1983) - B.A Hons Upper Second, English with European Studies. (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Home tuition (1978) - A'levels, English History French (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Magdalen College School Oxford (1976) - O'levels including English, Maths, Sciences, Latin. (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Whitby Maths tutor, Whitby English tutor, Whitby Entrance Exams tutor, Whitby English (Foreign Language) tutor, Whitby Primary Maths tutor, Whitby Secondary Maths tutor, Whitby GCSE Maths tutor, Whitby Casual Learner Maths tutor, Whitby Primary English tutor, Whitby Secondary English tutor, Whitby GCSE English tutor, Whitby A-Level English tutor, Whitby Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Whitby Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Whitby Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor