Skip to main content

Information About Cathy - Worcester tutor


This is how 2 referees rated Cathy:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00

Map Location

Map for Cathy (Miss)


Personal Description:

I am a 46 year old mother of 3 children whose ages range from 11 - 18. I am a keen rugby fan, regularly playing for a local team and watching (and screaming) from the side lines when the Saints are playing! History is also important to me and I love nothing more than exploring castles and reading historical fiction.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching for over 20 years and, throughout that time, have gained experience of the primary age range. Initially, I taught children in Year 3 and 4 which was a wonderful experience as the children make such accelerated progress at this time. Working with Lower Key Stage two pupils, gave me lots of experience of using models and images to ensure children had strong English and Maths foundations on which to build in future years. For the two years I taught year 5/6 which has focussed on ensuring children know the skills required to be a level 4/5 and apply these skills to SAT questions and tasks. It is important for a tutor to have a thorough up-to-date knowledge of statutory assessments if they are to support children with such activities. I have also had experience of preparing children for the level 6 assessment tasks. As I am still a practising teacher, I am able to ensure my knowledge is up-to- date and relevant to children's learning needs. For the past two years, I have taught year 7, which gives me an excellent grounding for supporting children with extending their learning into level 6. Currently, I am teaching in Year 6.

Tutoring Approach:

Initially, I would want to spend the first session assessing your child to see where their learning needed support/extension. Also, prior to the first session, I would need to discuss with you what you want from the tutoring. This could be securing age expected outcomes for end of year 6 assessment tasks, or extending into deepening their learning. This information would feed into following tasks to ensure your child is receiving support to achieve outcomes determined by where your child needs to be… I feel that it is important that you and your child know what is required of them to achieve an outcome and would explain this clearly. Tutoring should be fun and I would want to begin and end sessions with a Maths/English game which, not only makes the sessions more enjoyable for your child, but reinforces and extends learning.


  • Sunderland University (1993) - B.Ed Hons Primary Education 2:1 (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Emmbrook Secondary School (1989) - A level Social Biology (B) and History (D) (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Emmbrook Secondary School (1988) - A/O Archaeology; GCSE Drama (B) (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Emmbrook Secondary School (1987) - O levels: English Language(C); English Literature (C). Maths (C); Home Economics (B); Biology (C) (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Worcester Maths tutor, Worcester English tutor, Worcester Primary Maths tutor, Worcester Primary English tutor