Catherine

Wallasey Tutor

I studied and worked in Spain and subsequently lived for many years in Mexico City where I worked as a teacher of English as a Foreign Language and a translator. On returning to the UK I became a Spanish teacher.
I am easy-going, patient and passionate about the language and culture of the Spanish-speaking world. I derive enormous satisfaction from tutoring and have taught adults and youngsters from a wide range of backgrounds.

Tutoring Experience

I have taught English as a Foreign Language in Mexico, and Spanish from ab initio to advanced in the UK, for many years to both children and adults, for general, academic and business purposes. I have taught in schools, colleges of further and higher education and companies, one-to-one and in groups.
I am familiar with a range of GCSE and A level boards (OCR, AQA, WJEC) and currently work as an assistant oral examiner for the WJEC board.

Tutoring Approach

I employ a variety of techniques to suit individual learning styles and needs and am flexible in my approach. I am aware that many find the prospect of learning a foreign language daunting and my priority is to create a relaxed atmosphere in order to promote confidence and enjoyment.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Uni College Carddiff1974Bachelors2:ii B.A. Hons French & Span
Anglo-Mexican Institute1978ProfessionalProf in EFL
Liverpool Community College1991ProfessionalRSA Dip Teaching For Langs
Liverpool John Moores University2004MastersAdv Lang Studies (Distinction)

Catherine's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 3 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
Spanish
Secondary£20
GCSE£25
A-Level£25
Casual Learner£25