Skip to main content

Information About Catherine - Oxford tutor -

Profile Picture

Catherine's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Catherine:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£27.00
Secondary £35.00£31.50
GCSE £35.00£31.50

German

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£27.00
Secondary £35.00£31.50
GCSE £35.00£31.50
A-Level £40.00£36.00
University £40.00£36.00
Casual Learner £25.00£22.50

History

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00£31.50
GCSE £35.00£31.50

Law

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
A-Level £40.00£36.00

Map Location

Map for Catherine

Personal Description:

I'm currently reading for a BA Law with German Law at the University of Oxford (Christ Church) and am set to graduate in June 2020. I am a native English and German Speaker.
I studied at a grammar school in Surrey for A-Levels in the following subjects: Spanish, Mathematics, History, German and an EPQ. I achieved 5 A*s.
I completed my German GCSE at the age of 11 and my German A-Level (achieving 97%) at the age of 15, having grown up there for the majority of my life. I have a huge passion for Modern Languages, having been exposed to them from birth.

I am available to tutor at any level for German (KS2/KS3/GCSE/A-Level/IB/University) and am also able to help with preparation for applying to read Law/German Law/Law with a language at university (personal statement, interview preparation for Oxbridge etc.)

Tutoring Experience:

I spent Year 12/13 closely tutoring two students for their German GCSE, helping with their controlled assessments and preparation for the exam.
I have tutored groups of 5 for their German GCSE.
I have also helped children aged 7-11 with their KS3 Maths and also some 11+ work. Within my school, I have helped people with their GCSE maths as it is a syllabus I am very familiar with, having completed it fairly recently.
Furthermore, I spend lots of my time doing 'conversation lessons' with people of all ages - primarily in German but also in Spanish, to help them gain more confidence in speaking languages, rather than only being able to write or reading

Tutoring Approach:

Examples for Language tutoring:

For young children - I like to make the lessons very fun by playing games, reading things together, whilst also challenging them and helping them to improve their level.
For teenagers (around GCSE level) - the lessons would consist of making sure we have covered the whole syllabus in depth and then starting past papers as soon as possible, in order to help them achieve the best grade they can.
For A-Level students - there would be a lot of emphasis on 'conversation' as this is a very important skill to have both at AS and A2 Level. We would not just ensure we have gone through the whole syllabus, but also go beyond and do things such as reading articles, translations and essays.
For Adult learners - primarily an emphasis on 'conversation' and being able to use the language in various situations, unless of course they would like to complete an exam.

I have a friendly approach to teaching and am dedicated to ensuring that work is tailored to meet the needs of my students.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Chinese, German, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Nonsuch High School for Girls (2016) - A* in A-Level German, History, Spanish, Mathematics (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Sutton High School for Girls (2014) - GCSEs - 7A* and 4As (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Oxford Maths tutor, Oxford German tutor, Oxford History tutor, Oxford Law tutor, Oxford Primary Maths tutor, Oxford Secondary Maths tutor, Oxford GCSE Maths tutor, Oxford Primary German tutor, Oxford Secondary German tutor, Oxford GCSE German tutor, Oxford A-Level German tutor, Oxford University German tutor, Oxford Casual Learner German tutor, Oxford Secondary History tutor, Oxford GCSE History tutor, Oxford A-Level Law tutor