Information About Catherine - Norwich tutor -
(3 reviews)

Profile Picture

Catherine's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Catherine:





Subjects Taught

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Health / Social Care

Hourly Rate
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Catherine (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I have a degree in German and History (2:1) from Royal Holloway, University of London and an MA in Social Work from the University of East Anglia. In the past I have worked with adults with disabilities assisting them in accessing adult education and have also worked as a social worker with children with a variety of disabiliites, including autism, visual and hearing impairments and learning difficulties. I have also worked as a mentor at a local University assisting students with mental health difficulties. I currently privately tutor students studying Social Work and Health and Social Care related subjects focusing on study skills. I really enjoy teaching and love to see students grow in confidence in their abilities.

Tutoring Experience:

I have varied experience of teaching both adults and children. I have taught German students (aged 10 to 19 yrs) English in a class setting, both in Germany and in the UK. I have also taught Social Work students on both BA and MA courses at a local University. This included advising, teaching communication skills, supervising MA dissertations, marking academic work and teaching study skills. I have experience of working with students to help them in proofreading their work, particularly students with dyslexia. I can help with structure, grammar, punctuation and spelling as well as teaching students to develop skills in these areas.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to discuss with a student their learning needs and what they wish to gain from the sessions and then plan the sessions from there. I believe it is important to make a student feel relaxed and comfortable and to encourage students in their abilities. I hope that students find me approachable and friendly, reliable, encouraging and helpful.


  • University of East Anglia (1998) - MA in Social Work (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Royal Holloway, University of London (1995) - BA in German and History (2:1) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Weymouth College (1991) - 3 A'levels (in German, History and Pure Maths & Statistics) (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Weymouth Grammar School (1989) - 11 GCSE's (in German, Maths, English Literature, English Language, French, Art, Science, Welfare & Society, Statistics, History, Geography) (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Norwich Study Skills tutor, Norwich Health / Social Care tutor, Norwich University Study Skills tutor, Norwich Casual Learner Study Skills tutor, Norwich A-Level Health / Social Care tutor, Norwich University Health / Social Care tutor, Norwich Casual Learner Health / Social Care tutor