Information About Catherine - Fulham tutor

Profile Picture

Catherine's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Catherine:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

Map Location

Map for Catherine (Miss)


Personal Description:

I am an Early Years primary school teacher working at a Central London private school. I am approachable, friendly and very reliable. I enjoy the challenge of teaching and the satisfaction this can bring to both student and teacher. My interest in the arts-based subjects, such as English, Art and Film Studies, has developed my creativity; an important element in children’s education. I have also played the piano since the age of seven, achieving Grade 5 in formal examinations. I previously worked as a Cover Supervisor and Teaching Assistant at a challenging West London secondary school. Working in a variety of educational settings, in a variety of roles, has developed my approach to teaching and interacting with children and young people.

Tutoring Experience:

I am a Nursery class teacher in a highly academic school, where standards are high. Through an enjoyable, play-based environment, I teach the class to begin to read, write and count, with most children reaching above national standards in all areas of the early years curriculum. Within my previous role at a secondary school, I supervised classes of all subjects and secondary school ages. As a Teaching Assistant, I also worked 1 to 1 with students, often assisting with their English - commonly a second language for many students within the school. As well as this, I have taught English as a foreign language for two consecutive summers, to a wide variety of ages and abilities. I have also taken part in volunteer work, including at a holiday home for orphans and local children in Romania. I have previously tutored English privately to a 7 year old boy who gained confidence in his reading and writing abilities.

Tutoring Approach:

My focus is on Foundation, KS1 and KS2 - Primary ages. I would begin by assessing the level the student is at, and comfortable with. I believe that making a tutoring session enjoyable to be an important factor to achieve and I feel that engaging with the student, especially young children, and allowing the freedom to ask questions, discuss or simply make mistakes, to be essential if progress is to be made. I also think keeping good communication between tutor, student and parents to be effective in the progression of learning. I am happy to assist with current school work or contribute with extra study, as requested.


  • Middlesex University (2011) - PGCE Early Years (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Brunel University (2008) - BA (Honours) Film and Television Studies (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Chace Community School (2004) - Grade A : English Literature A Level (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Chace Community School (2004) - Grade A : English Language GCSE (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Fulham English tutor, Fulham Primary English tutor