Catherine

Catherine

Shrewsbury Tutor

From an early age I've had a passion for English and I completed my first degree in English Literature in 2006. I later completed the CELTA (Certificate of English Language Teaching to Adults). Since then I have taught English (as a second/additional language) in a range of settings including a primary school, summer schools and a business in Telford. I have taught people of all ages from Early Years to adult learners. I really enjoy teaching people one to one as lessons can be completely tailored to suit the individual and their learning style.

In 2012 I completed my teacher training (PGCE) at Roehampton University in London. I have always been interested in education in alternative settings (other than schools) and during my PGCE course I completed a placement at The National Gallery. I later worked as an Education Officer for Telford & Wrekin Council, developing educational programmes for schools and training opportunities for adults.

More recently I have taught GCSE English and I am very familiar with the new GCSE framework.

Tutoring Experience

Prior to obtaining my PGCE qualification, I taught EAL (English as an Additional Language) in a primary school in Crewe, Cheshire. In this role I taught children aged 5-11 years and I also taught 'every day' English to adults/parents in small groups and one to one. I really enjoyed tutoring one to one in this role and this is why I started private tutoring.

Since then I have taught EFL in two UK summer schools, in Cambridge and Cirencester. In both schools I taught international students aged between 9-18 years.

I have also taught business English at an international company based in Telford.

I am currently employed part time at a local FE college, providing one to one and small group tuition to GCSE English students.

Tutoring Approach

As a teacher/tutor I believe my strongest qualities are my patience and friendly manner. From my own learning experience I know that successful learning is achieved when the learner feels relaxed and comfortable with the teacher/tutor because it is important that the tutee is able to able to discuss their learning and talk about subject matter which they may find challenging.

I offer tuition at my home near Shrewsbury, I am also happy to travel to students within a 15 mile radius. I charge £25 per hour however I do offer discounts for block bookings so please speak to me if you are interested in booking a series of lessons.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

The University of Roehampton, London2012PGCEPrimary Education
The University of Cambridge. 2009OtherCELTA (Certificate of English Language Teaching to Adults)
The Manchester Metroplitan University2006BachelorsBA (Hons) English
The University of Roehampton2012QTSQTS

Catherine's Feedback

Feedback
1
Published feedback
1
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Catherine
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
English
GCSE£25
Casual Learner£25
English (Foreign Language)
Primary£25
Secondary£25
GCSE£25
University£30
Casual Learner£25