Skip to main content

Information About Catarina - Brighton tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Catarina:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £18.00
GCSE £20.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £18.00
GCSE £20.00

Map Location

Map for Catarina

Personal Description:

Always having had an interest in numbers and words, I achieved A* grades in Maths and English at GCSE, as well as a B grade in my Maths AS Level. Although I'm currently studying Psychology with Business and Management at the University of Sussex, these subjects are still heavily involved in my studies and my everyday life, as I continue to have a love for books and reading, as well as studying Statistics as part of my university course.

I am very friendly and easy to get along with, making sure the child feels comfortable asking and answering questions, and would love to forward my interest in language and numbers to others!

I am also bi-lingual, speaking fluent English and Portuguese, as well as a bit of Spanish and French (achieving A* grades in both at GCSE).

Tutoring Experience:

I have previous experience working with Primary School-aged children as a Year 5 and 6 French teaching assistant for 6 months, and being part of a big family means I am extremely comfortable working with and being around children. I also consider myself an extremely good communicator, making difficult concepts easier to understand, and having studied children, schools and learning styles extensively within my university course has only made me develop these skills further.

Tutoring Approach:

With tutoring, I believing in giving children the freedom to work to build their confidence as well as their understanding of what it is they do not understand. A major problem is 'not knowing what you don't know', therefore I think it is important to break down whatever subject is being learnt into components of what is understood, what is semi-understood and what is not understood, so that these can be distinguished and the subject as a whole can become less daunting, as progress can be seen in steps. This helps build the child's confidence of what they are learning as they too can feel and see themselves make progress with their learning.

I am very friendly and easy to get along with, making sure the child feels comfortable asking and answering questions. I break down difficult concepts into ones that can be more easily understood, as not every child with process information the same way.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Putney High School (2016) - A-Levels: Psychology - B, Art - B, Biology - C (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Putney High School (2015) - B in AS-Level Maths (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Putney High School (2014) - 6 A* (including Maths, English Literature and English Language), 4 A, 1 B (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Brighton Maths tutor, Brighton English tutor, Brighton Primary Maths tutor, Brighton Secondary Maths tutor, Brighton GCSE Maths tutor, Brighton Primary English tutor, Brighton Secondary English tutor, Brighton GCSE English tutor