Skip to main content

Information About Caroline - Morden tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Caroline's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Caroline:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00

Map Location

Map for Caroline (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I am the mother of a 18-year old girl. Before I had my daughter, I was a journalist and Public Relations Officer, but once my daughter was born, I wanted a complete career change. But journalism and teaching are both about communicating, and I believe that that is what I really excel at. I started volunteering in my daughter's school, then I worked there as a Teaching Assistant with a child with behaviour and learning difficulties. I developed a great interest in education, and obviously a greater understanding as well. This lead to becoming a Parent Governor at the school for four years. The French bit is that since I was very young, I adored French. We started at 6 or 7 years old at my primary school, and I just loved it. This has never changed. I did O level, A level, S level, and gained my degree in French Literature from Sussex University. I have a passion for France and all things French!

Tutoring Experience:

I worked as a Teaching Assistant for a year, as previously mentionned, in a primary school. I was also a tutor in Beginners English to adults at the local adult education college for a year, tutor for a short French for Holidays course for adults, and also a very high level English IELTS course to foreigners who wanted to go to an English university, as I also have a TEFL qualification (CELTA). I taught French for two terms in a primary school (replacing a teacher who was on long-term sick leave). Here I taught Reception, and Years 1,2 and 3. I also privately tutored a Year 4 boy for a term. I am currently tutoring an adult in French who is enjoying it enormously. This morning she was being a French TV weather presenter! Currently I am teaching a 14 year old boy, we are working towards his GCSE examinations. I also work for a suppply agency as a Teaching Assistant, so I have great experience of all kinds and manner of children.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe that learning has to be fun, because it makes learning so much easier, but I do also believe in an underlying rigour. If you don't teach your student the rules of the language, they cannot independently manipulate the language for themselves. But I try and make sure that the grammar pill is sugared, and try to make it as easy and clear as I possibly can. Lessons will be equally based on reading, writing, listening and speaking, where appropriate. I love happy children who are achieving and proud of themselves, so I am very encouraging, enthousiastic and patient. I believe I am friendly and good-humoured and that students feel relaxed and at ease with me. I know how hard talking in another language is, so I have great empathy for people's inhibitions and difficulties. Students can always talk to me and say when they don't understand, I'm prepared to explain as many times as necessary. And I always hope that we will have a laugh or two!

Qualifications:

  • University of Sussex (1974) - 2.2 French Literature (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Morden French tutor, Morden Primary French tutor, Morden Secondary French tutor, Morden GCSE French tutor, Morden A-Level French tutor