Information About Caroline - Bradford on Avon tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Caroline's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Caroline:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £30.00

Map Location

Map for Caroline (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I am an experienced literacy tutor, teaching pupils from 6 to 16. I am also a primary teacher and mother of 2 teenagers. I studied French and German for my degree and also have a TEFL qualification. I enjoy reading, travelling, cooking (and eating) Indian food, making bread, cycling and going to the gym.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a primary classroom teacher (KS1 and KS2) for 25 years in London, Somerset and Wiltshire. For the past 7 years I have also worked as a 1:1 literacy tutor with children from y3-y11, including dyslexic and EFL pupils. I have considerable experience of meeting the needs of a wide variety of private tutees and of tutoring at local primary and secondary schools. I have also had success tutoring for entrance exams, focussing particularly on the writing, reading comprehension and verbal reasoning papers.

I have a good understanding of the requirements of the National Curriculum and my tutoring work has focused on developing the following key skills:
Correct use of basic and advanced punctuation;
an understanding of common spelling patterns;
developing stamina in planning and writing at length;
employing a broader range of vocabulary and sentence types;
reading, in particular developing inference skills and a greater love of reading;
handwriting- ensuring a more legible and fluid style, beginning with correct letter formation

Primary School Experience

A secure and confident understanding of these key skills is vital for progress throughout primary school. My experience as a KS1 and early KS2 class teacher has been invaluable when tutoring children of this age, the luxury of 1:1 allowing us time to identify and focus on key initial literacy concepts. This individual attention is not always possible in large classes. I have enjoyed the opportunities of working with y6 children, diagnosing and clarifying their individual misconceptions, aiming to boost their self-esteem at this crucial time.
I have experience of teaching primary maths as a tutor. I am also able to teach German and French, having run after-school clubs and am currently teaching beginners' German.

Secondary School Experience

I have also particularly enjoyed my work supporting KS3 and KS4 students, who can often find the rigours of secondary schoolwork challenging. Basic literacy skills are essential for continued progress in all subjects at KS3 and beyond. The nature of 1:1 tuition allows students to identify their misunderstandings far more readily than in the open classroom, where loss of face at this age is all too overwhelming.
Areas usually needing extra attention include developing more precise vocabulary; varying sentence types; incorporating a wide range of punctuation; planning and structuring texts. Reading comprehension often focuses on developing detailed answers using PEE strategies.

Recent work offering y11 students revision sessions for GCSE English exams has been particularly fulfilling, clarifying the need for paragraphs; how to link texts coherently and explaining what P in AFOREST is all about! Their results have shown that it was all worthwhile.

I have also taught adult learners- supporting their acquisition of English - and revising beginners' German.

Tutoring Approach:

I tailor work to the needs of the individual, planning sessions which involve a variety of tasks, drawing on their interests wherever possible. I use 'traditional' teaching methods as well as a range of interactive online activities and I always give feedback to parents. It is an extremely rewarding job and one which I thoroughly enjoy.

Travel costs to be negotiated.


  • Marble Arch Teacher Training College (1989) - RSA Certificate TEFL (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • The Institute of Education, University of London (1985) - Primary Education (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Bradford University (1984) - BA Hons French and German (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German, Latin
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Bradford on Avon Maths tutor, Bradford on Avon English tutor, Bradford on Avon French tutor, Bradford on Avon German tutor, Bradford on Avon Entrance Exams tutor, Bradford on Avon Primary Maths tutor, Bradford on Avon Primary English tutor, Bradford on Avon Secondary English tutor, Bradford on Avon GCSE English tutor, Bradford on Avon Casual Learner English tutor, Bradford on Avon Primary French tutor, Bradford on Avon Secondary French tutor, Bradford on Avon Casual Learner French tutor, Bradford on Avon Primary German tutor, Bradford on Avon Secondary German tutor, Bradford on Avon Casual Learner German tutor, Bradford on Avon Primary Entrance Exams tutor