Skip to main content

Information About Carla - Dunmurry tutor

Profile Picture

Carla's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Carla:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Carla offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

History

Hourly Rate
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00

Religious Studies

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00

Map Location

Map for Carla

Personal Description:

I'm a graduate in English (primarily Literature with elements of Language). After working in a professional administrative role for my university in Scotland after graduating, I have returned to Northern Ireland to pursue a Masters in English Literary Studies. English is my main area of interest, and I have also studied History and Religious Studies for A Level and as classes during my earlier years of university.

My main hobbies are reading, creative writing and performance poetry. My enjoyment of these activities is part of the reason I would like to help others in developing their literary/arts skills, as I believe this can encourage engagement in these worthwhile hobbies.

Tutoring Experience:

I have recently worked with an A Level student throughout the past academic year, helping her to prepare for both AS resits and A Levels in English Literature. I have also tutored in my circle of family and friends, including neighbours and cousins, helping younger students with their writing skills and exam technique. I ran a creative writing day project for P6 students in Scotland and also ran a presentation for secondary school pupils on writing critical essays in English. I have also attended a weekend TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) course, which highlighted different teaching styles and methods for classroom teaching.

Tutoring Approach:

I have experience working with students of different ages, but I find with each age group it's important to know the student and tailor tutoring to each individual student. I ask tutees a number of questions when dissecting an issue, gently and patiently allowing the individual to work through the problem themselves. I suggest work being completed outside of tutoring time, and then discussed in a relaxed way during tutoring, noting areas for improvement and setting reasonable goals that the tutee can work to attain. As topics are explored in each session I make sure to note the exam or coursework criteria that the student can work towards in each case to achieve the best grade possible.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Queen's University Belfast (2019) - Pending: English Literary Studies (Masters) (in progress)
  • University of St Andrews (2015) - 2:1 MA (Hons) English (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Dunmurry English tutor, Dunmurry History tutor, Dunmurry Religious Studies tutor, Dunmurry Primary English tutor, Dunmurry Secondary English tutor, Dunmurry GCSE English tutor, Dunmurry A-Level English tutor, Dunmurry Casual Learner English tutor, Dunmurry Secondary History tutor, Dunmurry GCSE History tutor, Dunmurry A-Level History tutor, Dunmurry Primary Religious Studies tutor, Dunmurry Secondary Religious Studies tutor, Dunmurry GCSE Religious Studies tutor, Dunmurry A-Level Religious Studies tutor