Skip to main content

Information About Caragh - Cambridge tutor

Profile Picture

Caragh's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Caragh:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Caragh offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Combined Science

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Share

Personal Description:

I have just graduated with a 2:1 BA (Hons) in English Literature from the University of Sheffield. I have loved reading from a young age and hope to pass on my enthusiasm and degree knowledge of English to any age of students.

I come from Devon and have recently moved to Cambridge. I thoroughly enjoy cooking, walking, tennis, yoga and travelling. I love to explore a country's cuisine and attempt to recreate the taste at home!

Tutoring Experience:

I recently volunteered at a local primary school in Sheffield, giving one-to-one tuition to the higher level students. I helped them with reading, grammar, comprehension skills and any other preparation for their upcoming SATs tests.
When I was at college, I took part in a scheme to help the GSCE students with their essay writing skills and extra spelling/grammar sessions after school. This was mainly small group lessons, but I was still able to have one-to-one time with the children and see them progress quite quickly, just with that extra bit of help a week.
I have not had experience teaching adults English as a foreign language, but have recently attended a TEFL taster session with the intention of gaining the EFL qualification.
I am also Emergency First Aid trained.

Tutoring Approach:

I am more than happy to come to the student's home (within 5 miles) or meet in a public place for tutoring sessions. I would prefer to help the student with the work they are currently doing at school/college so that they can benefit in their relevant exams and coursework. I can equally provide lessons for the children depending on what is required and what skills they are hoping to gain. Having homework or a task to do in between sessions can be beneficial but it is equally important to focus on their current work at school. I am very flexible in my teaching method, it is whatever the student is most comfortable with.

My main aim is to get the student excited and interested in literature, as being widely read is so important in today's world. I have a real passion for reading and analysing texts and hope to pass this on to the student.

Qualifications:

  • University of Sheffield (2016) - BA (Hons) English Literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Okehampton College (2013) - B in English Literature (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Okehampton College (2011) - A* in English Literature (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Okehampton College (2011) - A* in English Language (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Cambridge Maths tutor, Cambridge English tutor, Cambridge Combined Science tutor, Cambridge Primary Maths tutor, Cambridge Primary English tutor, Cambridge Secondary English tutor, Cambridge GCSE English tutor, Cambridge A-Level English tutor, Cambridge Casual Learner English tutor, Cambridge Primary Combined Science tutor