Skip to main content

Information About Brooke - Peckham tutor

Profile Picture

Brooke's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Brooke:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£25.50

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00£25.50

Music

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00£17.00
Secondary £30.00£25.50

Drama

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00£17.00
Secondary £30.00£25.50
GCSE £30.00£25.50

Map Location

Map for Brooke

Personal Description:

I am the first in my family to move across the country on my own. I grew up attending a theatre school from ages nine to seventeen years old. Towards the latter of those years, I was holding the music warm-ups and assisting with the early stages groups (three to seven years old). I started to take musical theatre lessons aged eleven, which I continued with until I was seventeen years old and ended up with a distinction in grade eight musical theatre. These lessons helped me understand how I should feel and how a tutor should help me when it comes to exams. I also took singing lessons from age fifteen until age twenty-one with two different teachers. These lessons have helped me find comfort in one-on-one sessions and taught me how to behave with different ages of children. Growing up, my parents often worked away so my three older brothers and I would navigate through school ourselves. Seeing my parents work away so much to keep money rolling in, made my education a determined one. I always knew I wanted to move to London to continue to create music, to work hard and find a job I enjoy. Working with children is inspiring. I would love to become a tutor to help these children towards their own goals, and help them realise their goals.

Tutoring Experience:

I am an experienced music tutor, however, I feel I have more to offer and I wish to utilize my experience in a more managed and professional setting. I am enthusiastic and keen to work with children in a small environment and in applying for this role I would like to develop my skills and my subjects.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe that one-on-one tutoring is incredibly effective. There is no falling behind in class because things are moving too fast. It’s also truly important for student confidence. In class, a child may be too shy, embarrassed or, perhaps, even nonchalant about asking questions or trying to understand how things work around other people who may have understood faster than them. My Mum is a teaching assistant for children with learning disabilities so I’ve been around one-on-one learning from a young age. It seems to be more effective for one-on-one tutoring in the students’ home as they have no other students around to distract them. I like to use a mini whiteboard when one-on-one with a student. It allows for constant interaction between the two of us, and is especially good for exercises such as word association. It also tends to be more engaging for the student. A mini whiteboard can help when understanding where the child is at, as they can give me updates on how they feel about certain tasks/subjects with the whiteboard allowing them to express emotion, strengths and weaknesses etc.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Goldsmiths University of London (2017) - Popular Music (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Gosforth Academy (2014) - A-level Music (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Gosforth Academy (2014) - A-level Drama (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Gosforth Academy (2014) - A-level English Literature (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Peckham Maths tutor, Peckham English tutor, Peckham Music tutor, Peckham Drama tutor, Peckham Primary Maths tutor, Peckham Primary English tutor, Peckham Primary Music tutor, Peckham Secondary Music tutor, Peckham Primary Drama tutor, Peckham Secondary Drama tutor, Peckham GCSE Drama tutor