Skip to main content

Information About Bridget - Newton Abbot tutor

Profile Picture

Bridget's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Bridget:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Bridget

Personal Description:

I am a qualified teacher with a broad life experience - including having children of my own. I have recently returned to the UK after spending 2 years teaching English in France and would like to continue to use my skills and experience, gained over 20 years, to help individual students. I know the classroom can be very pressurised and students often find the teaching/learning experience stressful; we all have different learning styles and these may not be accommodated in the normal classroom set-up. My aim is to help build the confidence and skills necessary to ensure success, by providing sessions that are tailored to individual students' needs and abilities.

Tutoring Experience:

I started my teaching career as a Supply teacher, teaching a variety of age groups. My first actual teaching post was in a Reception Class in a mainstream school, but I quickly moved from there to Special Education. I found I always gravitated to those students who needed extra support and sought ways to help them achieve. My experience of teaching students with learning disabilities has really honed my professional expertise. Teaching in this sector requires much patience and the ability to differentiate work, resources and teaching approaches. This process - and the achievement that follows - I find hugely rewarding.
My most recent experience has been in teaching English to speakers of other languages. I find this work really enjoyable and it has enabled me to use the skills acquired in general teaching, whilst allowing me to experience living and working in a different country - and practise my French! Most lessons were given on an individual basis, which I really enjoyed. Many of my students were adults which required a very different approach. I taught general English, as well as exam preparation (TOIEC, TOEFL, IELTS, FCE).

Tutoring Approach:

Tutoring is an extension of my professional work, and I approach it as such. I am passionate about learning and giving everyone the chance to succeed.
My lessons are designed to match the individual's needs - this might be to consolidate work at school, additional material to build confidence, work on specific areas to improve performance. Sessions are planned with a balance between clear, direct input/teaching, and the opportunity to practise independently what we have been learning together. Where possible, I like to use students' own interests and experiences as a platform for learning; with adult language students, I use everyday materials, such as newspaper reports, to help make language-learning more meaningful.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • LAL(Torbay) (2015) - CELTA (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Rolle College, Plymouth University (1998) - PCGE (Lower Primary) (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • University of Plymouth (1998) - Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) (✔ On File)
  • University of Exeter (1982) - BA (Hons) Economic & Social History (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Newton Abbot English tutor, Newton Abbot English (Foreign Language) tutor, Newton Abbot Primary English tutor, Newton Abbot Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Newton Abbot Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Newton Abbot Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor