Skip to main content

Information About Brian - Edinburgh tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Brian's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Brian:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00

Map Location

Map for Brian (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a qualified Mathematics teacher (Secondary School) from Ireland, living and studying in Edinburgh. I returned to University to do a new undergraduate degree in Business Information Systems as I wanted to remain studying while in my twenties.

I am currently on a 15-month internship in University of Edinburgh, working as a Systems Administrator. I am a very sociable person, with a great love of sports (especially football and golf) and keeping active. I am also qualified as a P.E teacher to highlight this. My girlfriend is a primary teacher over here as well and we love living in such a nice city. I am from a small town of about 1500 people in the south of Ireland so Edinburgh is a big change from that, bar the weather, which is the same.

Tutoring Experience:

I have completed a degree in Mathematics Teaching in University of Limerick in Ireland, which included two stints of teaching experience placement in schools in Ireland. On completion of my degree, I did supply work in the secondary school I used attend as a teenager. I have also tutored students in Mathematics coming up to exams back in Ireland each of the last three years.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring is to create a comfortable, relaxed environment in which the student can learn in. My focus is to aid the student in gaining an understanding of the topic and an appreciation of how what is learned can be applied in real-life settings. With an understanding and appreciation of a topic, it is a lot easier for a student to strive in an exam setting, as they are more prepared for changes and variations in questions, which rote learning does not allow for.

I have a relaxed and friendly manner, but also expect my students to give their best and concentrate for our time together. There is a time to be serious and get to work, but also opportunity for a chat and a joke too. I am a believer that balance is the key to success in life. Any work or study material given between sessions is expected to be completed, or at least attempted fully, before the following class.

Qualifications:

  • University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland (2012) - BSc in Physical Education with Mathematics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Edinburgh Maths tutor, Edinburgh Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Edinburgh Primary Maths tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Maths tutor, Edinburgh GCSE Maths tutor, Edinburgh A-Level Maths tutor, Edinburgh Primary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Edinburgh Secondary Computer Studies / I.T. tutor