Information About Bonny - Chesterfield tutor -
(7 reviews)

Profile Picture

Bonny's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Bonny:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Bonny (Miss)


Personal Description:

I love doing Maths. I have a BSc and an MSc in Maths and I am currently studying for a BSc in Physics. I qualified as a teacher because I want to share the enjoyment I get from doing maths with others.

Teaching and tutoring have been my job for the past 12 years.

I have a current DBS check, and I am happy to show you this and proof of my existence.

Tutoring Experience:

I am an experienced Maths teacher both within the college environment and as a private tutor. I have been a qualified teacher for a few years now and have spent them working in various departments in the local colleges and am currently working at one of the local Uni's.

I have taught many levels and varieties of Maths with the tutoring and in work. I have experience with Pre-GCSE, GCSE and A level for all ages. I have also tutored those people who need professional skills development such as teachers and nurses. In terms of varieties I have tutored straight maths, and maths related to civil and mechanical engineering, computer related statistics and scientific maths mainly relating to physics. This does allow me to help out on the odd science related question, and have done science sessions for my learners when they are struggling with a topic. I also have experience tutoring students on OU courses and am familiar with their maths courses.

I have helped people to understand the basics, improve to the top grades, study courses independently and do maths for fun.

Tutoring Approach:

Tutoring maths is all about finding the right way for you understand something. Everybody learns differently and understands things in a different fashion. It is my job to help you understand how you learn and how you do Maths. To do this I ask that you come to me (my place is really easy to find); I have a mass of resources in terms of books, games and online information that we can use throughout the sessions. I aim to make all my sessions interesting, fun and relevant to you.

The first thing we do is find out how you want me to help; are you looking for revision practice or do you need sessions that help build your knowledge and reinforce what you are covering in class? Perhaps there is a specific subject that is just not getting any clearer and you need a different approach to it. From that point it is up to me to work out how we are going to tackle it.

If you are looking for revision practice, either to build your confidence for the exam or to achieve the highest grades. Then we start with past papers, working out what you already know. When we hit a question you don't know then we look at the subject in more detail and then tackle the question again. As well as this we will look at exam techniques: what is the best way to tackle the papers in order for you to be confident in your own abilities.

For those that want help along side their classes or are just looking for something casual we start with any areas that you feel uncomfortable with. Are these areas preventing you from moving further? I have written many Schemes of Work so I am very familiar with the contents of the syllabuses and can prepare you for anything (maths wise). If you are more casual then we will look at the more relaxed side of maths and some unusual applications of it to build up your understanding.

Everything we cover in session is between us so you have no need to worry about anyone else knowing what you can and can not do. I am a confident IT user too, so you can email me, phone me Skype me even if you need help between sessions; maybe even on the homework I set you!


  • Open University (2017) - BSc Open (Physics) - Ongoing (Bachelors) (in progress)
  • Sheffield Hallam University (2009) - PGCE (Numeracy Specialist) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Open University (2005) - MSc Mathematics (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Canterbury Christ Church University (2000) - BSc Mathematics with American Studies (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Chesterfield Maths tutor, Chesterfield Secondary Maths tutor, Chesterfield GCSE Maths tutor, Chesterfield A-Level Maths tutor, Chesterfield University Maths tutor, Chesterfield Casual Learner Maths tutor