Skip to main content

Information About Bibi - Orpington tutor

References

This is how 4 referees rated Bibi:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £22.00

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £18.00
Secondary £18.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £22.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Media / Communication Studies

Hourly Rate
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £22.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £20.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I believe that education is the best gift you can give to a human being. So, my whole life has been devoted to teaching. I believ it runs in the family as my parents both retired as headteachers, my brother is in primary education and my sister has been lecturing at university level. Teaching is what I do best.
I am now 38 and have been in education for the past 20 years, working with various age groups and at all the strata of education. In fact, I started my career as a secondary school teacher and moved on to TV. My objective at that point was to improve language acquisition (English and French) in early years setting to secondary school. I created TV and radio programmes which would allow pupils to master languages through the use of media (ICT and TV/radio). I was then also involved in teacher training and worked closely with school inspectors on several educational projects. I also contributed to various committees related to education at ministerial level. I am currently writing books for the early years setting and the teaching of English and French in an English as an Additional Language at pre primary and primary levels.
I've had to give up my career since 2008. I chose to devote my time to homeschool my two young children since the past four years following our relocation to UK. They are now 8 and 9 and are model students and thriving at their present school. As a consequence, I now master the English curriculum and am well acquainted with all the specifities of Kent 11+ entrance exams and the requirements for the St Olaves and Newstead entrance requirements.
My life has always pretty much focused on teaching, which I love. I keep updating myself with new development in pedagogy.
I believe that each child learns differently and has strengths and the potential to excel. As educators, we need to find these and build upon them and overcome any existing weaknesses in the teaching/learning process.
I am a devoted parent and just adore my two kids. I paint, love baking, reading, gardening, animals of all sorts.
I am a humanist at heart and am dedicated.

Tutoring Experience:

I started my career right after university as a secondary school teacher in an all boys college. i taught from Yr 7 to A level students. My subjects: English, French, History, Englsih and French Literature.
I have been home tutoring children since my secondary school days actually.
I then taught languages in a primary school setting using alternate media. This was fruitful with children with learning difficulties.
I trained and lectured pres chool and primary school teachers.
I have followed the Initial Teacher Training course in London.
I have been homeschooling my two children sinec they were in reception. I have also tutored friends' and relatives' children.

Tutoring Approach:

It is important to assess the child before engaging into the tutoring process. I achieve this through three stages: conversation, short maths session and writing/reading session. Then I evaluate the requirements to reach the designated goal by the child and the parent.
While focussing on the learning style(s) of the child, I devise the correct teaching pattern and strategies, which sill be shared with the tutee.
The child as such is constantly involved in the Teaching/Learning process and I ensure that after each lesson, the plenary confirms that the WALT has been achieved. I proceed how teachers would normally do in a formal school setting but with slight but constructive twists, such as the personalised approach, adding fun to the learning process and constant mental stimulation. Tests are then run on monthly basis to re evaluate any areas which require further consolidation. I use various online websites, Bond and Letts books and, if the need arises, I create personalised worksheets for the child.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: French
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Leicester (2009) - Communication and Media (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Mauritius (1995) - Honours in French and History (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Queen Elizabeth College (1991) - A levels in English, French and Art (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Queen Elizabeth College (1989) - 9 GCSEs (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Orpington English tutor, Orpington Maths tutor, Orpington Entrance Exams tutor, Orpington French tutor, Orpington Media / Communication Studies tutor, Orpington English (Foreign Language) tutor, Orpington Primary English tutor, Orpington Secondary English tutor, Orpington Casual Learner English tutor, Orpington Primary Maths tutor, Orpington Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Orpington Primary French tutor, Orpington Secondary French tutor, Orpington GCSE French tutor, Orpington A-Level French tutor, Orpington University French tutor, Orpington Casual Learner French tutor, Orpington GCSE Media / Communication Studies tutor, Orpington A-Level Media / Communication Studies tutor, Orpington University Media / Communication Studies tutor, Orpington Casual Learner Media / Communication Studies tutor, Orpington Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Orpington Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Orpington Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor