Information About Beryl - Edgware tutor


This is how 3 referees rated Beryl:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £45.00


Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00

Map Location

Map for Beryl (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I love my subject, whether language or literature, and take pleasure in helping pupils to enjoy it. Although I have always been good at English, I know what it feels like to be struggling in some subjects, so I can empathise with people who need some help. Also, having five children of my own and also grandchildren, I am used to forming relationships with a wide age range, so I feel I can usually develop rapport quite quickly.
Although not particularly young in years, I am very young in outlook, and have often been told that I am on the same wavelength as my pupils.

Tutoring Experience:

I have over forty years experience teaching in various primary, though mostly secondary schools, and spent ten years as Head of English. I have also taught adults in evening classes. In recent years I have tutored several pupils, helping them to reach their potential. In one case, I tutored a year 12 pupil for a resit, helping him gain the grade which enabled him to take the subject he wanted to do at A level.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is friendly but not over-familiar. I am sympathetic to my pupils's needs, and am able to empathise with their situation. I find introducing humour wherever possible makes the lessons enjoyable and, hopefully, memorable. Having an orderly mind myself, I try to help pupils to be organised in their approach.I generally set homework to follow on from the lesson (unless pressure of exams makes this impracticable), and maintain continuity by marking this at the start of the next lesson.


  • King's College, London (1968) - PGCE (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Birmingham (1967) - BA(Hons) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Edgware English tutor, Edgware French tutor, Edgware Primary English tutor, Edgware Secondary English tutor, Edgware GCSE English tutor, Edgware A-Level English tutor, Edgware Secondary French tutor