Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Bernardo

Bernardo

I am a 50-years old Italian national who has lived and worked in the Southampton area since the early nineties. I enjoy teaching all age groups at all levels, both in a formal environment and an informal one (walking small groups in the Forest, pub outings etc). I feel this helps individuals to relax and offers a break to classroom activities.

Tutoring Experience

I have been teaching Italian in colleges in the Waterside area for many years, in addition to offering private tuition to small groups and individuals, both at my premises and away from home.

Tutoring Approach

My main approach is to first of all assess students' competences and needs via an individual learning plan and progress record. I then share a scheme of work covering both individual lessons and (when applicable) the whole course. This provides a useful framework and helps students to stay focussed.

Activities range from role plays, listening / reading comprehension, games (both indoors and outdoors), grammar and text book-centred work. Informal assessments, revision/consolidation and optional homework are also part of my teaching.

I have a wide array of resources at my disposal but I find games as the most enjoyable way of learning a foreign language!

LanguagesItalian, French
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

The Open University 2007BachelorsBA Hons Degree in Computing and IT (2.1)
Eastleigh College1999CollegeA Level French (A Grade)
Institute of Export1997ProfessionalDiploma in Export Management
Istituto Alberghiero Amerigo Vespucci (Milan, Italy)1986CollegeBaccalaureate (A level-standard Italian qualification)

Bernardo's Feedback

Feedback
3
Published feedback
3
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Bernardo
Rating from 4 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught