Information About Ben - Ruislip tutor


This is how 2 referees rated Ben:





Subjects Taught

Religious Studies

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £35.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Secondary £35.00
GCSE £35.00

Map Location

Map for Ben (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am 37 years old with two wonderful little children (3 and 5) who keep me feeling both younger and older than that. I have a positive outlook on things and firmly believe that whatever the situation there's always a way to make it better. Deep down, that's probably what led me to teaching. I have a CELTA (Merit) in teaching English as a second language for which I had to learn the mechanics of our grammar how to write in different styles, a 2:1 honours degree in Psychology and Philosophy and an MA (distinction) in Educational Leadership. I love what I do.

Tutoring Experience:

I spent 3 years private tutoring to a variety of clients in Brazil before returning to the UK and running not-for-profit events in schools. From there I trained to be a secondary school teacher, specialising in Religious Studies. That began in 2007. Since then I have held a number of roles that have given me wider experience of the nature of teaching for different types of students. I was responsible for designing the teaching program for Year 7 Transition classes, then in charge of my school's Gifted and Talented program, then Head of RE and currently I am Head of the Humanities Faculty at a large, mixed, secondary school. I have taught a large amount of RE at KS3/4/5 and History at KS3. I currently teach Edexcel RS GCSE and A Level, and am an examiner for AQA GCSE RS. My results have always been above national averages and the large majority of students in my own classes achieve grades higher than their targets.

Tutoring Approach:

I have taught a large number a students of different backgrounds and abilities and so am very aware of the the fact that each child has their own specific strengths, weaknesses and needs. I also firmly believe that every child can be successful once the aforementioned have been accurately identified. At KS4/5 level knowlege is only half of the learning, the rest is knowing how to make the most of it in order to achieve the highest grades. My approach to tutoring is to identify exactly how far the student is from the highest grades and put a plan into place in order to bridge that gap. This may involve skills teaching as much as knowledge. Literacy is key. The student has to enjoy it as well so I aim to share my own enthusiasm for the subject through the encouragement of debate and development of the student's own opinions. This encouragement of deeper thought and improvisation helps to embed the knowledge, making it easier to then put into an exam/assessment style format as required.


  • St. Mary's University (2011) - MA Leading Change and Innovation (distinction) (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • West London Education Partnership (2008) - GTP (QTS) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Leeds (2000) - Psychology and Philosophy (joint hons)- 2:1 (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Portuguese
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Ruislip Religious Studies tutor, Ruislip English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ruislip Secondary Religious Studies tutor, Ruislip GCSE Religious Studies tutor, Ruislip A-Level Religious Studies tutor, Ruislip Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ruislip GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor