Skip to main content

Information About Bennet - Dulwich tutor

Profile Picture

Bennet's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Bennet:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00£16.00

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00£16.00

History

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00£16.00
Secondary £20.00£16.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
11 Plus £20.00£16.00

Map Location

Map for Bennet (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

I graduated from the University of Leeds in 2015 with a 2:1 in History (International) and a First-Class dissertation. For my A-levels I achieved A* grades in English and History, and an A i n German. Although I did not continue Maths, I took my Maths GCSE a year early - achieving an A*. During my school career, I was also appointed as a House Captain, at Lower, Middle and Upper School level, and the Senior Librarian, in my final year.

Tutoring Experience:

From 2004 to 2012, I was an instructor for the South Korean Martial Art Kuk Sool Won. This involved leading large groups of people in exercise, individually teaching complicated martial arts techniques and principles, and teaching children.

During my university degree I was often encouraged to take charge of History seminars - as well as explaining my research to individuals on my course - so I have recent experience of teaching students.

Tutoring Approach:

There are several approaches I will have to tutoring. Firstly, I will make sure that the child I am teaching is guiding the session as much as possible. There is no point in a tutor being there if they are not going to teach according to what a child needs to learn. I will ensure that I start each session by asking the child what he or she finds difficult or what he or she wants to focus on, and then try and guide the session accordingly.

But I will also ensure that I am working as an indirect support to what is being taught at school. As a tutor, I realise that my role will be to teach in conjunction with what a child has already been taught in the classroom. In order to achieve this, I will try and obtain the syllabus that the child is learning from and previous homework marked by the teacher. If possible, I will make myself available for a free consultation with the parents and the child before the first session in order to cater my teaching more specifically.

Thirdly, I will stress the importance of a good work ethic. A good work ethic involves not only teaching a child how to work, but also how not to work. I know from personal experience that once you know when your next break is, you become much more productive and achieve more than you would by staring at a book for an hour and then spending four hours playing computer games. Once a child is taught the importance of a cycle of work – usually 30 or 45 minutes of work followed by a 15 minute break – revision and learning becomes much more enjoyable.

Finally, I think it is important to make sure that a child will have a happy educational future. This will mean suggesting books or activities that will broaden their horizons. During my English A-Level, I remember reading Frankenstein despite the fact it was only slightly related to my course. As part of my German A-Level, I read The Reader, which helped immensely in improving my vocabulary and confidence in another language. At university, I read many of the Sharpe books, which helped me to visualise early 19th century English society – which I was studying at the time. Reading for pleasure is a very simple way of improving a child’s vocabulary and imagination. I will try to link extra-curricular activities (such as sport or music) with their learning, so they become more engaged with the topic. If someone can see the relevance of what they are learning, or understands how it relates to them, they immediately have a lot more interest and learn a lot more quickly.

My biggest strength is probably my patience. I feel this is invaluable to tutoring, as you will often have to spend a lot of time on one particular area of difficulty and the best way to deal with this is to explain it slowly. Combined with this, I am a good listener. I realize there is no point in talking over a child and bombarding them with information, as this will achieve nothing except confusing them more (and is probably the reason they need tutoring in the first place). I can adapt easily, which is vital when catering to the needs of different children who need different teaching methods. My experience as a martial arts instructor means I understand how children confront certain problems and therefore how I can help them. As a History undergraduate I have learnt many different methods of memorizing vast amounts of information and of breaking down complicated questions – methods which are very easy to teach to younger students.

Qualifications:

  • University of Leeds (2015) - 2:1 BA History (International) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Dulwich College (2011) - A* English A-Level (School) (✔ On File)
  • Dulwich College (2011) - A* History A-Level (School) (✔ On File)
  • Dulwich College (2011) - A German A-Level (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Dulwich Maths tutor, Dulwich English tutor, Dulwich History tutor, Dulwich Entrance Exams tutor, Dulwich Primary Maths tutor, Dulwich Primary English tutor, Dulwich Primary History tutor, Dulwich Secondary History tutor, Dulwich Primary Entrance Exams tutor