Information About Ben - Brierley Hill tutor

Profile Picture

Ben's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Ben:





Subjects Taught

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Ben (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am a young, dynamic Cambridge CELTA qualified teacher with a real passion for the English language. My greatest pleasure is to meet students from all over the world!

I love the challenge that each new student brings, knowing that each person has individual learning requirements and needs a unique approach to facilitating their language acquisition.

My hobbies include languages (I studied French at university), travel, literature, and education.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching English for over 4 years. I started by teaching my friends whilst living in France, helping them with their university assignments and preparation for TOEFL exams and presentations. In 2014 I became professionally qualified when I achieved Cambridge CELTA certification.

Since then I have taught Brazilian students from impoverished areas of Rio de Janeiro online, working for the Sequoia Foundation. I currently work for a French company, teaching English online to French-speakers (from France, as well as from many African and Caribbean countries). Working for a Hong Kong based company, I also teach a student from Spain. Further to this I also work for a Japanese company, offering 1-1 Skype lessons.

In summer of 2015 I taught monolingual classes of Italian speakers at Birmingham City University (working for a company called International Quest). My most recent teaching experience also involves an Italian student: I provide 1-1 business English lessons (face-to-face) at Deutsche Bank in Birmingham.

My students have been very varied. The youngest are currently around age 6 and the oldest have been retired casual learners (aged 60+). I have taught levels ranging from entry level (A1 and below) to advanced (C1-C2). My students are from a variety of backgrounds: schoolchildren; high school students; university students ; business professionals; casual learners.

Tutoring Approach:

I love to meet new students from all over the world and enjoy working with all levels. Each student has different needs, so I make sure our lessons reflect this. For example, one student may wish to focus on grammar and reading, whereas another might need to work on speaking and phonology.

I use materials such as the Cambridge Empower series for adolescent and adult learners, as I believe it provides a fantastic springboard for learning. For students wishing to focus on business English, I also make use of the Collins Business English range.

I also have many other resources at my disposal that can be adapted to suit each individual student's needs. For example, many students also find it beneficial to analyse newspaper articles, and I am also happy to work with students on any documents they bring to class.


  • Brasshouse, Birmingham (2014) - Cambridge CELTA (Other) (✔ On File)
  • University of Kent, Université de Grenoble (2013) - BA French Honours (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Brierley Hill English (Foreign Language) tutor, Brierley Hill Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Brierley Hill Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Brierley Hill GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Brierley Hill A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Brierley Hill University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Brierley Hill Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor