Skip to main content

Information About Ben - Willenhall tutor -

Profile Picture

Ben's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Ben:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Ben offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Maths

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £25.00

Physics

Hourly Rate
Casual Learner £25.00

Computer Studies / I.T.

Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Ben

Personal Description:

I've been interested in computers from a young age and would like to help anyone making their way into the world of Computer Science. I worked as an IT Consultant and Network Engineer for several law firms, and have a BSc in Physics and a MSc in the Physics and Technology of Nuclear Reactors. I want to focus my tutoring on Computer Science, but many Maths and Science degrees now also include modules on computing (C++, Fortran, Python etc).

I use several programming languages on a daily basis: Fortran, Python and PHP. On occasions, I also have to edit or create programs using Java, C and C++. I enjoy the creative aspect of programming, as you're building something from scratch that will hopefully help others.

I recently published a peer reviewed article with the journal of Computer Physics Communications titled "Activity computer program for calculating ion irradiation activation", where I derived a new set of activity equations and implemented them with a program written in Fortran. I also like to upload new programs and scripts to my github site and my personal website whenever I have the chance.

Outside of work/tutoring, I enjoy spending time with my family. I like practical project as well; I've built all the computer and servers in my house, and (moving away from IT) I recently converted an Ambulance to a camper van. It allows me to take my son and my wife away on holidays to explore the beautiful views this country has to offer.

Tutoring Experience:

I've tutored for a term in the C++ practical class for first year undergrads at the University of Birmingham. In addition to this, most of the work towards my degrees has been self motivated, so I've had to break down problems and concepts for myself, so I can appreciate the working behind the learning process. I also ran several tutoring sessions on how to use Microsoft Office while I worked in IT, although my focus as a private tutor is now on Computer Science, and Computer Science for Math/Science undergrads.

Tutoring Approach:

All tutoring is offered remotely via the Internet. Teamspeak3 and a headset are used for communicating, and we will both use remote desktop connection to share either a Linux or Windows server. The Linux server has compilers and a web server configured, and the Windows server has Office 2016 installed.

My tutoring is aimed towards programming and I am currently only offering tuition on the following subjects/languages:

- Python3
- Python3/Numpy/Matplotlib for Maths/Physics
- PHP, MySQL + Apache
- Linux
- Fortran
- Cython

I only have limited availability from 2018-2019, and my tutoring days are Monday and Tuesday.

I am also happy to undertake small amounts of freelance work in PHP, Python3, MySQL, Fortran (also C and C++, depending on the project).

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Birmingham (2010) - Physics and Technology of Nuclear Reactors (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Open University (2007) - Physics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Willenhall Maths tutor, Willenhall Physics tutor, Willenhall Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Willenhall Casual Learner Maths tutor, Willenhall Casual Learner Physics tutor, Willenhall GCSE Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Willenhall A-Level Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Willenhall University Computer Studies / I.T. tutor, Willenhall Casual Learner Computer Studies / I.T. tutor