Skip to main content

Information About Barbara - Dagenham tutor

Profile Picture

Barbara's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Barbara:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £60.00£54.00
Secondary £60.00£54.00
GCSE £60.00£54.00
A-Level £60.00£54.00
University £60.00£54.00
Casual Learner £60.00£54.00

Map Location

Map for Barbara

Personal Description:

My name is Barbara and I am an experienced teacher and private tutor for English Language and English Literature - at Primary School, Secondary School and A-Level. I am experienced in teaching students at all ability levels, including students with learning difficulties. My teaching style is fun and accessible and my students walk away with a renewed passion for English and high grades!

I achieved 11 A*s GCSE (including A* in English and French). I studied English Literature, English Language and French at A-Levels (awarded A in all subjects), and I studied Politics and English at Nottingham University, spending a year studying in France (Sciences Po, Paris Univeristy / Institut d'études Politiques de Paris). I also hold a Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) in teaching, meaning that I am a qualified teacher.

Tutoring Experience:

I have three years’ experience in teaching and tutoring primary, secondary school and A-Level students English (KS1, KS2, GCSE, AS, and A-Level). I also hold a Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) which means that I am a fully qualified teacher and I have worked extensively teaching in private schools.

I have prepared students for 11+ and 13+ entrance exams, GCSE exams, A-Level exams, and Oxbridge entry exams, and all of my students have achieved two grades above their predicted school marks when they have sat their examinations.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to pre-arrange my classes with the tutees, and ask them to send me a week in advance what they wish to practice and focus on. I will then spend the week preparing and structuring the lesson. When I meet with the tutees, I usually structure the class on paper, scheduling in short breaks if the class is over an hour, and structuring what the tutee will learn in the time allocated.

I also prepare workbooks and notes which are tailored to suit my students' weak areas, and after our first lesson I usually prepare them and we work on subsequent lessons using these workbooks and learning resources.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • King's College London (2015) - Business and International Management (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Nottingham (2011) - Politics B.A. degree (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Dagenham English tutor, Dagenham Primary English tutor, Dagenham Secondary English tutor, Dagenham GCSE English tutor, Dagenham A-Level English tutor, Dagenham University English tutor, Dagenham Casual Learner English tutor