Skip to main content

Information About Barbara - Reading tutor

Profile Picture

Barbara's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Barbara:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Italian

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £35.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Barbara (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

My name is Barbara and I’m 29. I’m from Milan, Italy and moved to the UK a couple of years ago for family reasons. I’m a CELTA qualified teacher and I have taught both Italian and English as a foreign language in a range of levels, from beginners to advanced, and in different contexts: I taught students aged 14-18 at school, university students, whom I supported for exam preparation, and also adults, both in Italy and in the UK.

Tutoring Experience:

I started tutoring when I was 18, during my undergraduate programme. Since then I’ve taught mainly English as a second/foreign language and English literature at all levels, but I’ve also worked as a tutor of Italian for foreign students. After moving to Reading I’ve started teaching Italian both privately and in a language school. Furthermore, in summer I also teach English for Academic Purposes in a university in London.

Tutoring Approach:

I usually offer one-to-one lessons but I’m also willing to teach in small groups. In any case I offer personalised teaching plans and try to adapt my teaching to the student’s personal needs and interests. I believe in the importance of practically-focused lessons, this is why I teach in a very practical way, using real texts for reading, listening and speaking activities, along with games. My approach to tutoring is rigorous but at the same time it is also very relaxed and easygoing to allow students to really enjoy lessons and to be able to communicate them my passion for teaching.

Qualifications:

  • University of Cambridge - ESOL Examinations (2012) - CELTA (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Reading (2011) - MA Applied Linguistics (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Università degli Studi di Milano (2008) - MA European and Extra-European Languages and Literatures (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Università degli Studi di Milano (2006) - BA Foreign Languages and Literatures (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: Italian
Additional Languages: English (British), French
Availability: Weekdays (daytime)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Reading Italian tutor, Reading English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading Primary Italian tutor, Reading Secondary Italian tutor, Reading GCSE Italian tutor, Reading A-Level Italian tutor, Reading University Italian tutor, Reading Casual Learner Italian tutor, Reading Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Reading Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor