Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: 0203 962 1468
Call now to speak to an advisor: 0203 962 1468
Ashwin

Ashwin

Hi there! I am a 24 year old based in London working in data science. I graduated in 2017 from the University of Cambridge in Natural Sciences; my first two years were in Mathematics and I specialised in Astrophysics for my third year. I have completed Maths & Further Maths, Chemistry and Economics at A2 Level, achieving 2A*s & 2As respectively. I have also completed STEP examinations achieving two 1s in STEP II and STEP III.

How I describe myself as a tutor in three words: friendly, knowledgable & engaging.

Tutoring Experience

I tutor Maths and Further Maths at A2 Level and have experience in tutoring mathematics since 2011, specifically Further Maths from 2013; I also tutor Maths at GCSE, as well as Chemistry and Physics for a limited number of students. I have now tutored more than 40 students in the last 6 years.

I also specialise in online tutoring; I use a Wacom graphics table and the Doodle Desk software for Mac in order to be able to deliver written lessons via Hangouts. This has proven very useful for both me and other tutees as we can avoid commuting.

Tutoring Approach

As someone that has completed the Cambridge Tripos, I have experienced excelling academically at school level as well as being challenged by the massive jump in level at university, especially at Cambridge. This has allowed me to fully empathise with the position a struggling student finds themselves in if they cannot grasp the content of their course, whatever their level of study.

I have always been passionate about my subject and try to instil this mentality into my students as I have found this is the best way to maximise one's potential; however, I have also acquired more patience with slower students and have tried to find different ways to open their eyes to trickier concepts, which has only happened because of my time at Cambridge. Moreover, I am a relaxed presence and students tend to see me as a friend or young mentor as opposed to a more rigid authority figure.

I have also found that my recent experience as a student allows me to offer important tips and advice to tutees that their teachers haven't been able to give them, from the specific course content and exam questions to more general pointers on exam technique, deeper knowledge that makes a challenging topic easier to understand, and even just universal advice on how to be a better learner. Teachers have to cater to a large class full of students and can't afford to focus on individuals too often; my tailor-made guidance to tutees is really what has dramatically improved their ability in the past and what makes me stand out as an excellent tutor, as one of my biggest strengths is being able to identify what a specific tutee requires the most.

In general, my approach is very simple: I try to make topics as interesting as possible to ignite a passion within a student and equip myself with a variety of different approaches to a topic if a student is struggling; I then test my students as much as possible with written resources in order for them to be able to practice and master the subject. My sessions tend to mirror the style of Cambridge supervisions, the one-on-one homework discussion sessions I undertook with professors and lecturers twice a week as part of my degree. This approach has helped me elevate my students multiple grades in their final exams! (e.g. one student from an E to A this year)

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

Dr. Challoner's Grammar School2013SchoolA2 Level Mathematics & Further Mathematics (A* & A*)
Dr. Challoner's Grammar School2013SchoolA2 Level Economics (A)
Dr. Challoner's Grammar School2013SchoolA2 Level Chemistry (A)
University of Cambridge2017BachelorsBA (Natural Sciences)

Ashwin's Feedback

Feedback
7
Published feedback
7
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Ashwin
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
25% discount on your first lesson!