Skip to main content

Information About Anthea - Pickering tutor -
(1 reviews)

References

This is how 2 referees rated Anthea:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £16.00
GCSE £18.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £16.00

French

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £16.00
GCSE £18.00

Map Location

Map for Anthea

Personal Description:

I am a very positive, enthusiastic person, who is also calm and patient. I am artistic and creative. I love reading. I sing and play the recorder and the clarinet. I enjoy all aspects of handwork, in particular knitting. I am passionate about education and believe that there are many ways to teach children effectively, bringing out the best in them, building their self esteem and confidence and as a result improving their grades. I enjoy teaching and it gives me a lot of joy and satisfaction.

Tutoring Experience:

I ran after school French clubs in the area for many years, teaching French through games, songs and role plays. The emphasis being on oral work before written work. I tutored maths and English at the same time to primary and secondary aged children. I have then worked for the past 20 years in a Steiner School, teaching French, German, handwork as discreet subjects but then becoming a class teacher. A class teacher stays with a particular group of children from 6 to 14 years of age and teaches the whole of the curriculum to all abilities, from SEN to gifted and talented. For the past 3 years I have been tutoring and hope to make it my full time job soon. I have been teaching GCSE maths, English and German and preparing children for KS1 and KS2 SATS. I also help with early literacy and numeracy.

Tutoring Approach:

I enjoy working with children of all ages. I am patient and understanding. I have a good sense of humour and make learning fun, often finding unusual yet effective ways of teaching. I appreciate that children learn in different ways and I like to approach subjects with imagination to ensure your child is learning effectively. Children feel relaxed around me and enjoy their tutoring sessions.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • canterbury university (2012) - QTS (QTS) (✘ Not On File)
  • plymouth university (2006) - steiner education (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Manchester Polytechnic (1991) - modern languages and literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Pickering Maths tutor, Pickering English tutor, Pickering French tutor, Pickering Primary Maths tutor, Pickering Secondary Maths tutor, Pickering GCSE Maths tutor, Pickering Primary English tutor, Pickering Secondary English tutor, Pickering Primary French tutor, Pickering Secondary French tutor, Pickering GCSE French tutor