Skip to main content

Information About Anna - Birmingham tutor -

Profile Picture

Anna's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Anna:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

German

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
Casual Learner £15.00

History

Hourly Rate
Primary £15.00
Secondary £15.00
GCSE £15.00
A-Level £15.00
Casual Learner £15.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a final year undergraduate student at the University of Birmingham, studying German with History. I would love to share my knowledge of the German language with a range of ages, from primary to the adult learner. I have spent my year abroad living in Germany between August 2017 and June 2018, and have therefore improved my fluency and cultural knowledge even further. I have good friends in Germany who can only speak German, so I can let that speak for itself!

Learning a new language is an important and fulfilling life skill for any age, and having achieved an A in both German and History at A level, I know what it takes to get the best grades.

I have a passion for History, particularly British and German history from the medieval to the 20th Century. For my first year of university, I completed modules in Medieval History as well as 20th Century Communism, and last year completed a group research project on Medieval peasant protest as well as 20th Century African-American history. For my final year, I will be doing modules on the Black Death and Margaret Thatcher, so would be a highly knowledgeable tutor for anyone studying A Level British politics/political history or medieval history.

I offer extremely competitive rates because I do not believe that tutoring should cost the Earth.

Tutoring Experience:

During my second year at university, I was a qualified mentor with the West Midlands Aimhigher mentoring scheme. I worked with a small group of secondary school students at King's Norton Boy's School once a week between November 2016 and May 2017, delivering mentoring sessions about higher education, budgeting, CV writing, interview skills, applying for jobs, understanding student loans and other areas which I would consider life skills but may not be taught in school. I enjoyed a huge level of freedom in this role, delivering highly personalised sessions of my own choosing whilst also proving a highly responsible representative of my university.

During my year abroad in Germany, I worked as a Foreign Language Assistant, which meant that I taught English to German secondary school pupils for almost a whole academic year, working alongside the teaching staff. I have gained invaluable teaching skills during this time as well as vastly improving my understanding of German and linguistics. It was also a unique cultural experience being a native English speaker living and teaching in Germany, and I was responsible for conveying and discussing our similarities and differences.

I have had continuous part-time jobs alongside my studies for years now, so my time-management and interpersonal skills have developed alongside my academic skills. I am looking to get back into tutoring after my year abroad as I believe it is much more rewarding to help people progress in German or History, which are my real passions in life, than working anywhere else.

I now have around a year's experience of providing private tutoring, and have taught students of all ages and abilities. I do not have a preference because I enjoy a variety and I believe education should be open to all.

Tutoring Approach:

I am extremely organised and motivated to help others succeed with GCSEs, A Levels or adult or casual learners. I will bring a planned session with me every week and find out as much about you, your goals and your learning style as I can to help me tailor my approach so you can get the best results.

I am available any weekday evening apart from Thursday, and any weekend afternoon.

My approach to tutoring is extremely flexible- it depends on how you want to do things and how much you want to do. Different age and ability groups require completely different approaches. I am always there to listen and happy to help

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Birmingham (2018) - German Studies with History (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • British Council/PAD (2018) - Foreign Language Assistant (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Suffolk One College (2015) - A Level German (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Suffolk One College (2015) - A Level Modern History (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Birmingham German tutor, Birmingham History tutor, Birmingham Primary German tutor, Birmingham Secondary German tutor, Birmingham GCSE German tutor, Birmingham A-Level German tutor, Birmingham Casual Learner German tutor, Birmingham Primary History tutor, Birmingham Secondary History tutor, Birmingham GCSE History tutor, Birmingham A-Level History tutor, Birmingham Casual Learner History tutor