Information About Angie - Colchester tutor

Profile Picture

Angie's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Angie:





Subjects Taught

Special Needs

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00£24.00
A-Level £30.00£24.00
University £30.00£24.00
Casual Learner £25.00£20.00

Study Skills

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00£24.00
A-Level £30.00£24.00
University £30.00£24.00

Map Location

Map for Angie (Ms)


Personal Description:

My specialism is in teaching dyslexic students, though I have also supported students with general Study Skills. I am able to travel within the North Essex area (e.g. Colchester, Chelmsford, Witham, Braintree, etc.)

The British Dyslexia Association certified me as a practising Associate Member and assessor in 2013. This is at FE/HE level, though I have worked with students aged 14+ years old in a support capacity. I have also supported students with other needs, such as students with dyspraxia, or on the autistic spectrum.

Tutoring Experience:

I have spent many years working in various roles of support for students aged 16+ years old; these years have encompassed roles in 1:1 and small group teaching (tuition to support specific learning difficulties or low level English and Maths abilities), as well teaching classes (Functional Skills English and Maths, Adult Literacy and Adult Numeracy). I currently work at a university in London, coordinating and delivering dyslexia support.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is student-centered: I start with finding out exactly what the individual student needs to work on and improve. This usually begins by having a discussion during the first session to establish what these needs are and to set goals so that we can track progress. I have a good working knowledge of how best to support a range of needs, whilst also understanding that learning strategies must be individualised and encourage independence in learning. With this, learners are better equipped to succeed in future education and employment.

Though I have mainly taught at college level, I am also experienced in supporting students completing university-level work, such as dissertations.


  • British Dyslexia Association (2013) - Associate Member of the British Dyslexia Association - certification of practitioner and assessor at FE/HE level (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Open University (2012) - Masters Module - E801 Difficulties in Literacy Development (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Norwich City College (2011) - Level 5 Certificate in Teaching Learners with Specific Learning Difficulties (Dyslexia) (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Essex University/Colchester Institute (2007) - Post Graduate Certificate in Education - post-compulsory education (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Colchester Special Needs tutor, Colchester Study Skills tutor, Colchester GCSE Special Needs tutor, Colchester A-Level Special Needs tutor, Colchester University Special Needs tutor, Colchester Casual Learner Special Needs tutor, Colchester GCSE Study Skills tutor, Colchester A-Level Study Skills tutor, Colchester University Study Skills tutor