Information About Angela - Haywards Heath tutor -
(2 reviews)


This is how 3 referees rated Angela:





Subjects Taught


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00£22.50
GCSE £35.00£31.50
A-Level £35.00£31.50
Casual Learner £25.00£22.50

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00£22.50
Secondary £25.00£22.50
GCSE £30.00£27.00
A-Level £30.00£27.00
University £40.00£36.00
Casual Learner £30.00£27.00

Map Location

Map for Angela (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I am an A level history lecturer in a further education college. I also teach English as a foreign language to individual students, having just returned myself from two years in Europe where I taught English language and literature in a Swiss secondary school. Previously I taught history at GCSE, AS and A level for ten years.
I live with my husband, cat and young German lodger. Our two grown-up children sometimes drop in for a break from their MSc course/travels in India. We are a sociable household with a strong culture of learning.

Tutoring Experience:

I have a wealth of experience of teaching AS and A level history for a variety of exam boards, worked as an AS examiner for the OCR documents paper and have tutored many individual students, especially in relation to coursework related issues. I have also taught GCSE history for OCR, Edexcel and AQA qualifications and have tutored students for all these exams. I have a very wide subject knowledge, have taught a range of coursework options and am skilled at enabling my students to develop confidence in their work.
My recent experience of teaching English in Switzerland was about preparing non-native speakers for university entrance, particularly in Britain and the USA. I taught the English component of the Swiss Federale Maturite exam and prepared the younger students for the Trinity English qualification. Now back in Sussex, I teach students at a range of English levels from general conversation classes to those preparing for IELTS and the Cambridge exams.

Tutoring Approach:

I use a range of teaching strategies depending on what is most appropriate for the student. I always aim to build on what the student already knows and to reinforce that knowledge and understanding by making links. In teaching history I usually work extensively with sources because this is often where the student feels least confident. My aim is always to simplify the techniques of answering exam questions to a few key points. Ultimately I am trying to help my students feel confident in their ability.
My approach is similar with English, except that in this subject I will work much more on speaking and listening skills, embedding some of the key grammar points within the lesson. I usually give students tasks to complete at home to reinforce their learning.


  • St Giles College, Brighton (2014) - CELTA (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Bristol (1984) - History (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Warwick (1982) - Comparative American Studies (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Haywards Heath History tutor, Haywards Heath English (Foreign Language) tutor, Haywards Heath Secondary History tutor, Haywards Heath GCSE History tutor, Haywards Heath A-Level History tutor, Haywards Heath Casual Learner History tutor, Haywards Heath Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Haywards Heath Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Haywards Heath GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Haywards Heath A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Haywards Heath University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Haywards Heath Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor