Skip to main content

Information About Andy - Ipswich tutor

Profile Picture

Andy's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Andy:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Andy offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Spanish

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00

Music

Hourly Rate
Primary £25.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Andy

Personal Description:

I am an experienced teacher, tutor and lecturer. I have degrees in Music and Sociology, and have an advanced IOL diploma in Spanish.

I can offer:

Music Theory (to ABRSM Grade 5 usually - higher grades deal with advanced clefs and instrumentation)
Tuition in drumming and percussion (usually Rockschool or Trinity depending on current trajectory and learner needs).
English (Foreign Language) and English Language - I know the new GCSE syllabus (imaginative and transactional reading and writing), and have taught English abroad for a number of years.

Tutoring Experience:

PGCE (qualified teacher status) for over 25 years
Professionally engaged as a Music Teacher at an OFSTED-rated Outstanding Sixth Form College
Private tuition in music for over 10 years
Two years teaching GCSE English at two FE academies/colleges including new GCSE syllabus
Taught English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) for 4 years in Spain
Last year spent teaching RSL Music Performance L3 (MUSPRA), BTEC Music Tech A Level and BTEC Extended Diploma Performing Arts L3.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is to assess a person's needs based on their goals, current capacity and preferred (personalised) learning styles.

I seek to understand what objectives are required so that I can tailor programmes to suit. Sometimes this can be a very straightforward, process-driven approach - for example in learning drum rudiments where technique and repetition are important - and sometimes this can be varied so that the learner becomes accustomed to engaging with new ideas, reflection, problem-solving as well as related activities to develop skills. The approach will depend on the negotiation between myself as facilitator, and the learner themselves.

I would like to think that empathy and understanding are key to being a good tutor. My own learning has always been at the centre of my life, even when it is a 'must do' rather than a 'would like to do'. My tutees will have the advantage of having someone passionate about their development, pragmatic in getting them to be where they need to be, and empathic enough to make sessions interesting and fun rather than dull and routinised.

*PLEASE NOTE* my availability in more detail:

Weekday evenings are Wednesday, Thursday from 6pm if local
I can usually do Wednesday afternoons, but need to have notice well in advance
Most weekends I am engaged in music performances, but depending on schedules I could be free so do please ask.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Anglia Ruskin University (2014) - Music (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Northumbria University (1993) - Institute of Linguists Advanced Diploma in Spanish (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Manchester University (1987) - Social Science/TEFL (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Glasgow University (1985) - Sociology (Masters) (✔ On File)

Tags: Ipswich Spanish tutor, Ipswich Music tutor, Ipswich English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ipswich Secondary Spanish tutor, Ipswich GCSE Spanish tutor, Ipswich Primary Music tutor, Ipswich Secondary Music tutor, Ipswich GCSE Music tutor, Ipswich Casual Learner Music tutor, Ipswich Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ipswich GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ipswich A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ipswich University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Ipswich Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor