Information About Andrew - Swindon tutor

Profile Picture

Andrew's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Andrew:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Andrew (Mr)


Personal Description:

I have been happily married for 36 years and have three children, the youngest of whom is 28. Two of the children are teachers and the third is married to a teacher. My wife is also a teacher. You could say that the profession runs in the family. I am a keen cyclist and like to keep myself in trim, using the gym regularly. My wife and I enjoy travel, walking, cooking and enjoy a good social life. Reading and listening to music are both key interests in my life and I am a member of a local film society. I also manage a creative writing group and belong to two reading groups.

Tutoring Experience:

It is 36 years since I began teaching. I taught in secondary schools for 27 years and spent 9 years teaching in FE. During that time, I have been Head of an English department, led English teams and taught GCSE and A level courses. In all my professional reviews, Ofsted inspections and routine observations in school and college, I have been rated as at least good, sometimes outstanding. I have marked GCSE English Language exams, GCSE Literature exams, A level coursework and exams as well as teaching across the 11 - 18 age range. I have also taught adult classes in GCSE and A level English subjects. Whilst working in schools, I was a pastoral assistant headteacher, leading me to develop and teach some individualised programmes of work. I retired in September 2015.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring is to begin from where the learner is. I am interested in helping students to understand what is required for success in any particular subject or examination, to help them in overcoming weaknesses whilst building on strengths. I am a strong believer that education is about fostering positive relationships, as well as establishing an atmosphere where learning can take place. I also believe that rigour and routines are important for learning, as well as confidence and high expectations.


  • University of bath (1986) - M.Phil (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Trinity College, Carmarthen (1979) - B.Ed (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Swindon English tutor, Swindon GCSE English tutor, Swindon A-Level English tutor, Swindon Casual Learner English tutor