Information About Amelia - Barnsbury tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Amelia's profile picture


This is how 3 referees rated Amelia:





Subjects Taught


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00£36.00
Secondary £40.00£36.00
GCSE £40.00£36.00


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
Primary £40.00£36.00
Secondary £40.00£36.00
GCSE £40.00£36.00


Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £45.00£40.50
A-Level £45.00£40.50
University £50.00£45.00

Map Location

Map for Amelia (Miss)


Personal Description:

***Currently offering preparation for Oxbridge Applications-get ahead of the crowd and book sessions now***

Hi, I'm Mia and I recently graduated from the University of Oxford with a Prize-Winning First Class Degree in Law.

I am currently studying completing pupillage with the Government Legal Service, having passed the BPTC with an outstanding.

I have spent the last year doing legal internships, including 3 months with UNRWA in Jordan and another three months with the prestigious International Bar Association in London. In have been tutoring for over 5 years now and have gained extensive experience over the past year as I have been tutoring in order to fund my internships. From January to March I worked three full days a week at Bloomsbury Law Tutors, taking on a number of students and helping them to prepare for the upcoming examinations and coursework deadlines.

I have also tutored school children in Maths and English (up to GCSE level) which I really enjoy, especially when the younger students start to see results!

Aside from tutoring I love music and am a member of a pop choir. I also enjoy netball and spending time with my friends and family.

I am available during the evenings or weekends.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been offering private tuition for the 13+ and GCSEs in my local area since finishing school. I tutored throughout my time at university and have had numerous private pupils in the London area this year, as well as tutoring on a more permanent basis with Bloomsbury Law Tutors.

I have worked at a number of prestigious legal organisations such as the UN, the International Bar Association and the International Action Team at the UK Law Society. This has enabled me to learn how to deliver information in a concise but interesting way and how to quickly assimilate facts. In addition to this, I have taken part in a variety of mooting and debating competitions, including acting as a "show-mooter" in a mooting masterclass with Brick Court Chambers, and am currently an Advocacy Scholar at the University of Law.

I have been involved in pro bono work with lots of institutions including Victim Support UK and the Free Representation Unit which has helped me to be able to explain difficult legal concepts in basic terms so that the client can understand the process.

I have taught primary school children in Sierra Leone whilst volunteering in the country.

Tutoring Approach:

I have always had a fun approach to tutoring but I also expect the work to be done on time unless the tutee has a good excuse! I have always been very patient but I believe that it is a two-way process and whilst it's my task to plan the lessons and prepare, it is equally the task of the pupil to complete the work set.

I feel that it is difficult to set out a general approach to teaching because each student is different and since I have had a variety of students over the years I am able to quickly assess which approach would be preferable and how to engage with the pupil. In terms of university students, the general structure is normally to focus on one topic per session where we will discuss the issues and the case law and then plan a model answer to a past exam question. I feel that putting the teaching into practice in this manner has been the most effective approach with my past students. With younger students, it completely depends on the child but I have developed powerpoints for some students who are visual learners, whereas others prefer to just work through worksheets and keep practising the concepts.

Ultimately I really enjoy tutoring and want the pupil to enjoy the time as well! I am a firm believer that the lessons should not be seen as a chore but should inspire the pupil to learn more and continue studying.


  • University of Oxford (2014) - Law (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Barnsbury Maths tutor, Barnsbury English tutor, Barnsbury Law tutor, Barnsbury Primary Maths tutor, Barnsbury Secondary Maths tutor, Barnsbury GCSE Maths tutor, Barnsbury Primary English tutor, Barnsbury Secondary English tutor, Barnsbury GCSE English tutor, Barnsbury GCSE Law tutor, Barnsbury A-Level Law tutor, Barnsbury University Law tutor