Skip to main content

Information About Alistar - Hackney tutor -
(5 reviews)

Profile Picture

Alistar's profile picture

References

This is how 4 referees rated Alistar:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £30.00
13 Plus £30.00
14 Plus £30.00
College £30.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Alistar (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

My name is Alistar . I currently work as a Business Intelligence Consultant based in the City of London. I am a Mathematics graduate, with specialisms in Statistics, Calculus, Geometry, Partial Differential Equations, Laplace Transforms, Modular Arithmetic and Graph Theory.

I have a passion for teaching, tutoring both English and Mathematics. With 4 years of private tuition experience, I am able to identify with students on a personal level. In the past, I have worked with children in a number of roles, ranging from schools to summer camps, both in the UK and internationally. I have always been able to build a strong rapport with all the young people I have worked with.

I am quite creative. I enjoy writing poetry, songs and also compose music in my spare time. I also enjoy playing table tennis socially and competitively.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring pupils for over 4 years in Mathematics and a year and a half in English. I have been fortunate enough to teach the mathematics syllabus from KS1 to KS5 and beyond, (Primary, GCSE & A-level) with students as young as 4 right up to mature students. I am familiar with the Mark Schemes of various examination boards, such as Edexcel, AQA and MEI. I emphasise the understanding of subject material and coach students to think on the spot and to able to present their answers in exams in a clear and concise format to avoid losing marks unnecessarily. I have a proven pass rate, with students improving by as much as 3 grades.

In English, I have tutored 1 to 1 and 1 to many sessions with ESOL students and students up to GCSE level. The areas that I focussed on were phonics, idiomatic constructs, clauses, tense classification, creative writing, poetry (anthology), spelling and grammar.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring is quite simple: I teach students to ask themselves the right questions about the topic and encourage free-thinking. Sounds simple, but many students, when faced with exam questions, are able to do the underlying calculations behind it/know what to write but don't realise until after the exam. This is because they often don't ask themselves the right questions to get that eureka moment and unfortunately, then, it's too late. I always encourage independence, and a can-do attitude, providing support if and when needed. My aim is to build confidence in each and every pupil’s belief in their ability so that they are able to fulfil their full potential.

I am patient and encouraging and I firmly believe that I can bring out the best in your child!

Qualifications:

  • Brunel University (2011) - Mathematics BSc (Hons) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Sir John Cass Sixth Form (2007) - A-Level: Mathematics, Psychology, Business Studies, French and General Studies (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Sir John Cass Secondary School (2005) - GCSE: French (A*), English (A), Maths (A), Science (A), Religious Education (A), Music (A), Drama (A) (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Hackney Maths tutor, Hackney English tutor, Hackney Entrance Exams tutor, Hackney English (Foreign Language) tutor, Hackney Primary Maths tutor, Hackney Secondary Maths tutor, Hackney GCSE Maths tutor, Hackney A-Level Maths tutor, Hackney University Maths tutor, Hackney Casual Learner Maths tutor, Hackney Primary English tutor, Hackney Secondary English tutor, Hackney GCSE English tutor, Hackney A-Level English tutor, Hackney Casual Learner English tutor, Hackney Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Hackney Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Hackney GCSE Entrance Exams tutor, Hackney A-Level Entrance Exams tutor, Hackney University Entrance Exams tutor, Hackney Casual Learner Entrance Exams tutor, Hackney Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Hackney Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Hackney GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor, Hackney A-Level English (Foreign Language) tutor, Hackney University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Hackney Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor