Information About Alison - Bristol tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Alison's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Alison:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Alison (Ms)


Personal Description:

I graduated from Oxford University in 1980 with a BA Hons in mathematics, and have been tutoring for over 30 years. I have worked in a variety of different areas (including theatre and film) but have always tutored part-time alongside other work. I am married with two children (now quite grown up) and live in the centre of Bristol.

I teach from my own home which is located conveniently.

Tutoring Experience:

I first started tutoring over 35 years ago, when I was myself an undergraduate, and I have been doing it regularly ever since. I have always enjoyed it and get huge reward from being able to make a significant difference to people's understanding of maths, and their performance in exams.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is always tailored to the needs of the individual student. I start by trying to understand what you want to achieve and where you think your weaknesses are. Sometimes that can involve going back to some basic skills, which can increase confidence. I find that assigning homework makes the lessons more productive and we can progress faster when you have put some time in away from the lesson. But I also understand that you might have many other commitments in your life so I am always flexible and like students to manage their own workload. Flexibility and responsiveness are key.


  • University of Oxford (1980) - BA Hons (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French, Russian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Bristol Maths tutor, Bristol GCSE Maths tutor, Bristol A-Level Maths tutor, Bristol Casual Learner Maths tutor