Skip to main content

Information About Alisdair - Canterbury tutor

Profile Picture

Alisdair's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Alisdair:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am currently a second year student at CCCU in English Language and Communication, but previously was an English as a Foreign Language teacher for nearly 16 years. I have worked abroad in various EU countries at language academies, schools and in-company as well. I decided to return to full time education in 2016 to gain further education in my field, and also to grow, both professionally and personally. In my free time, I enjoy cinema, books of all sorts, anything related to travel and meeting people. I also have a passion for food and cooking. I am a patient and sensitive person who has a good sense of humour and adventure.

Tutoring Experience:

I gained my teaching qualification in 2000 and have been teaching English ever since. I have taught all levels of English from Elementary to Proficiency, and to all age groups as well. I have experience teaching the Cambridge exam suite from KET to CPE and worked as an IELTS instructor for the British Council. My experience is varied, whether it has been groups of kids on a summer course, to professionals in company.
I have taught multi national teenagers and young adults on residential summer courses in the UK for many years. I have also provided one to one lessons to various clients in my spare time too.

Tutoring Approach:

My initial approach is to establish rapport with the student - get to know them a bit so they can trust my judgement. Then setting a plan of action, based on their individual needs and requirements and also personal interests so that the lessons can be productive and enjoyable. My approach is to be supportive, encouraging and ultimately to guide.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • IH, Krakow, Poland (2000) - RSA/CELTA (Professional) (✔ On File)

Tags: Canterbury English (Foreign Language) tutor, Canterbury University English (Foreign Language) tutor, Canterbury Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor