Alicia

Alicia

Lewisham Tutor

Welcome to my profile! My name is Alicia and I am a professional Economist on a major UK infrastructure programme. I have five years of tutoring experience and today would like to continue to enjoy supporting students become comfortable with economic concepts and work towards their goals.

I've had a break from tutoring while I have been working as a professional Economist for nearly six years, during this time I have specialised in labour economics, transport economics, and the interaction between government policy and the macro-economy. I have a BA in PPE; Politics, Philosophy and Economics and an MSc in Applied Economics at The University of Nottingham.

Tutoring Experience

Since joining this website I've tutored in the range of 25 students over the 5 years. With my guidance my students have been able to improve their understanding of economics and their grades. The largest improvement of any of my students was from a grade E to A! I have also been able to provide them with help on personal statements and choosing degree courses. I'm very pleased to say I've had positive feedback from my students, some of which you can read on this website.

In my job as an Economist on a major UK infrastructure project I communicate economics in plain English on a daily basis to colleagues. I have been quoted in the media and provided updates on the health of the UK economy to the general public on BBC breakfast.

I have been CRB/DBS checked several times. My most recent DBS check was conducted in March 2018. I am happy to show this to clients in the first lesson if requested.

Tutoring Approach

I always begin with a discussion about what the student would like to get from my tutoring and how I can help. If the student doesn't have a clear aim I can help over a few sessions set realistic goals.

Next, if they are completing an academic qualification I would like to know the syllabus for their course so I can focus on their particular specification and prepare my own notes accordingly. I seek to find out the nature of the difficulties they are experiencing and establish the inital level of understanding of the student.

My approach to tutoring varies accordingly with each student's needs. Methods I've used to help the student grasp the material include:
writing notes together on a syllabus topic,
breaking down concepts and relationships through discussion,
pointing to relateable real world examples,
drawing diagrams,
working through exam and homework questions together,
and I have even used props on occasion!

I frequently use past paper questions to aid teaching as I find these are very useful for highlighting how knowledge should be applied and which sections of the syllabus are commonly linked together in questions.

Finally, it's important to note that I actively encourage students to ask lots of questions and not to be embarrassed if they feel they need to return to particular topics which they still find challenging.

I have personal experience of learning economics at A-level, applying for university and subsequently completing a degree in economics, and forging a career as an Economist. I am therefore well placed to provide guidance to students who want to understand what the next steps for them might be and help them decide if it's right for them. That includes reviewing personal statements and helping with degree course choices. Equally, I recognise that not every student is going to be as keen on economics as myself. If you have a short term goal and don't particularly enjoy the subject at the moment that's fine too. For those I hope to make economics less of a chore and help them attain their goal.

LanguagesEnglish (British)
AvailabilityWeekends, Weekdays (evenings)
References Available On File

Qualifications

The University of Nottingham2012MastersMSc Economics
The University of Manchester2011BachelorsPPE BA Hons Degree 2:1
Bolton School Girls' Dvision2008CollegeA-levels A-Economics; A-Textiles; A-Chemistry; B-Biology.
Bolton School Girls' Dvision2006SchoolGCSE's A*-English lit; A*-English lang; A*-Textiles; A-Maths; AA-Dual Award Science; A-History; A-Geography; B-Business and Communication Studies; B-French

Alicia's Feedback

Feedback
13
Published feedback
12
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)1
Alicia
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
25% discount on your first lesson!
Economics
GCSE£35
A-Level£40
Casual Learner£40