Skip to main content

Information About Alice - Paddington tutor -
(2 reviews)

Profile Picture

Alice's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Alice:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Alice offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Alice (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I have recently completed my BA in English Language and Literature at Oxford University (grade pending). Having finished my first degree, I am pursuing a second, this time in another of my interests - Physiotherapy. I will be London based for at least the next three years while I complete this, and am keen to meet and teach as many students as I can. My academic record includes an ISEB Top Academic Scholarship, A* in English Language and English Literature GCSE (with full marks in Literature), and a 7 in English Literature at IB. Outside the classroom, I am an aspiring ballet dancer (hence Physiotherapy), music enthusiast, and proud member of the 48%.

Tutoring Experience:

Throughout my education, private tutoring has been integral to my academic success, so I am well aware of the methods which are most likely to be effective, and the huge difference it can make. I have spent the last three years in the Oxford tutorial system, being taught by some of the best academics in my field. However, I have not lost sight of the importance of the fundamentals of grammar and close reading, which I have kept fresh in my mind through offering editorial help with coursework, personal statements and creative writing. Naturally, my academic achievements have required successful revision methods which have allowed me to succeed consistently, and I am eager to pass these on.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to work in a goal orientated manner, by assessing the student in the first lesson and establishing both a result which can reasonably be expected, and the ideal which might possibly be achieved. I find this helps students to alleviate any anxiety they may have about failure, freeing them to work towards their full potential. I then go away and work on a lesson plan for them, free of charge, in collaboration with them (and, if appropriate, their parents/guardian). After this, the hard work begins. I believe that the basic process of tutoring involves helping a student to thrive in the aspects which come naturally to them, and ameliorate the areas in which they struggle. This allows them to become both a unique and well rounded candidate.

Qualifications:

  • University of Oxford (2016) - BA English Language and Literature (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Royal High School, Bath (2012) - International Baccalaureate 40/45 (College) (✔ On File)
  • Monkton Combe School, Bath (2009) - GCSE 7A*s 2As 1B (School) (✔ On File)
  • Monkton Combe School, Bath (2006) - ISEB Top Academic Scholar (School) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Paddington English tutor, Paddington Primary English tutor, Paddington Secondary English tutor, Paddington GCSE English tutor, Paddington A-Level English tutor, Paddington University English tutor, Paddington Casual Learner English tutor