Skip to main content

Information About Alice - Eastbourne tutor

Badges

Subjects Taught

Drama

Hourly Rate
Primary £10.00
Secondary £10.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £12.00
Secondary £12.00
GCSE £12.00

Map Location

Map for Alice (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I'm Alice And I am a graduate form the University of London, I studied Drama and Philosophy and received a 2:1 degree in the subject with specialised in the areas of Modern European Philosophy, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Community Drama, British Theatre and American literature to name but a few.

Throughout my time at university I have remained a motivated individual who strived to achieve to the highest level, which I think my results show. Alongside my academic achievements I have also been heavily involved in the political side of my campus. I was President of People and Planet, a student activism network who engage in issues such as climate change, world poverty and human rights. I found this highly enjoyable and feel proud that I managed to run a successful society whilst also completing my busiest year of academic work. I also held the position of Ethics and Environmental Officer which included interacting with many people across the organisation; organising campaigns and weekly meetings. Being involved in these positions proved that I had the ability to juggle my course and also pay attention to the things that I feel mostly passionately about.

I also held down a job for the three years that I was at university; working at a local bar. This gave me the chance to understand the importance of running a successful business and the importance of customer satisfaction. Whilst I was there I changed my roles form working the the kitchen, to working behind the bar to also waitressing. This proves that my skills are adaptable.

Before I attended university I lived in Seattle for 18 months. Whilst I was there I experienced a completely different culture and had the opportunity to meet many new people. I had various jobs including working as an Events Manager for a company called 'The Organization'. This company focused on promoting political awareness amongst young people. My role included organising music concerts in and around the state of Washington. I also worked for the Seattle Shakespeare Company, Seattle's local radio station and also the homeless shelter in downtown Seattle which focused on getting underprivileged individuals a job and a better future.

Tutoring Experience:

I have recently completed a TESOL (TEFL) course under the Trinity College London, therefore I am a qualified english teacher. I have taught numerous classes and one on one lessons with students of different ages, backgrounds and nationalities. I received very good feedback from these lessons.

I have also had experience in teaching drama to a group of adults with special needs. For three months in 2010 I worked with the 'Mosaic Drama Group', who were based in Braknel, to produce a performance in which they had wrote. This was one of the most fulfilling experience and the feeling at the end of the 3 months was a sense of overwhelming achievement.

Tutoring Approach:

Primarily I want to make my student feel comfortable and relaxed in their working environment as this makes for far better learning. I am approachable and very happy to answer all of my students questions and work through them with the problems they are having. I feel that my teaching experience and my qualifications are extremely useful, but that my attitude is the most important aspect of choosing me as a tutor. I feel I am a motivating individual due to my enthusiasm, and although I will help students to feel relaxed and happy to come to sessions, will also ensure that success is achieved in the areas that they want.

Qualifications:

  • 2007-2010 Royal Holloway, University of London: BA (hons) Drama with Philosophy 2:1
  • Tesol qualification (TEFL) to teach English as a Foreign Language. Trinity College London
  • 2004-2006 Lewes Tertiary College. AABB (English Literature, Philosophy, Drama and Performing Arts)
  • 1999-2004 11 GCSEs AAAABBBBBCCC
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Eastbourne Drama tutor, Eastbourne English (Foreign Language) tutor, Eastbourne Primary Drama tutor, Eastbourne Secondary Drama tutor, Eastbourne Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Eastbourne Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Eastbourne GCSE English (Foreign Language) tutor