Information About Alexandra - Acton tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Alexandra's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Alexandra:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £35.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Alexandra (Miss)


Personal Description:

I am a working Civil Engineer, working on various projects including Crossrail and on Thames Water projects. I graduated from UCL (University College London) with a 1st class Masters of Engineering degree. I am bilingual I can speak both Spanish and English fluently. I have always had a very strong interest in Maths and Physics which led to this career choice. I am bilingual, I can speak both Spanish and English. I have lived in London most of my life, though was lucky enough to live in New Jersey, USA, for a year when i was 14. I enjoy travelling, having recently visited Malaysia. I also thoroughly enjoy reading; I read a vast range of books. I am very easy to get along with and am a very patient person.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring mathematics to children for seven years. I have spent the last two years tutoring primary school maths at a Saturday school in Kings Cross. I am keeping up to date with the changes in the GCSE syllabus and its focus on more word problems and applied maths. I am currently tutoring GCSE and A level mathematics, with the aim to help my pupils not only meet or exceed their predicted grades but to also help them feel confident in what they know. I have also been helping to teach at the Royal Institutions year 9 mathematics masterclasses for the last 5 years, as well as helping out during their family fun days.

Tutoring Approach:

I use a mixture of demonstrations as well as active participation - going through questions and how to answer them. I also do set some work for them to do at home in order for them to concrete what they have just learnt. For the GCSE and A level it is very much exam oriented. It is essential to try and find the correct approach that works, and this is different for each pupil. This is why I tailor the sessions and teaching methods for each pupil so that they benefit from the lessons and go away feeling as though the topics make much more sense!


  • UCL (2015) - MEng Civil Engineering (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • MPW (2011) - A* in Spnish GCSE, A in Spanish A Level and DELE intermedio (College) (✔ On File)
  • MPW (2011) - A* in physics GCSE and A* in physics A level (College) (✔ On File)
  • MPW (2011) - A* in mathematics and further mathematics A level and GCSE (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Acton Maths tutor, Acton Primary Maths tutor, Acton Secondary Maths tutor, Acton GCSE Maths tutor, Acton A-Level Maths tutor