Skip to main content

Information About Alexandra - Ilford tutor -
(5 reviews)

Profile Picture

Alexandra's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Alexandra:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00

French

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00

History

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Religious Studies

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Law

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Sociology

Hourly Rate
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £35.00

Map Location

Map for Alexandra (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

Hello! I'm Ally, I'm an experienced tutor, a Cambridge University graduate and qualified lawyer. After graduating from Newnham College, Cambridge with a BA in Social Anthropology I went on to law school in London and qualified as a solicitor, working in corporate law and then medical law in London. Since then I have been working with small businesses, in the health, technology and education sectors, helping them grow and fundraise. I love history, literature, and the arts and culture, plus dance, travel, pilates and exploring my home neighbourhood of East London with my family. Most recently I have been teaching Sociology A Level at an independent college in London.

I'm currently offering regular tuition through term time and holidays and I also offer intensive tuition if you are preparing for an exam or want to do some quicker catch up work.

Tutoring Experience:

I am an experienced tutor, with students studying GCSEs and A Levels, across humanities subjects, such as History, RS, Sociology, English and Law. I have taught A Level Sociology at an independent college in London.

I've taught and mentored throughout my career and education, helping others to learn and develop their skills - it's something I enjoy and take pride in.

As a lawyer I'm used to explaining difficult concepts and making them easy to understand and remember. In business I've learnt that patience and understanding others' learning styles is key to making sure that people can make progress.

I've volunteered in schools and most recently worked with an education charity and teachers helping them to develop and promote a new maths curriculum.

As someone who's been the whole way through the English education system right through to professional level, I know what's expected of students and how to be successful at each stage.

Tutoring Approach:

At the start, I'll work with you (and/or your child) to understand your goals and learning styles and what you want to get out of tutoring. After that we'll work out a programme - be that a short term boost or more long term support. I'll tailor the teaching and learning style to what suits the student - but I'll make sure that we touch on a range of approaches, including discussions, practice questions, reviewing classwork or homework.

I'll aim to help you enjoy the subject and develop confidence and skills that are transferable to all your studies. I'm patient and understanding and will focus my efforts on helping you do your best.

I'll be available to answer quick questions between sessions.

Qualifications:

  • BPP Law School (2006) - Legal Practice Course (Distinction) and Graduate Diploma in Law (Commendation) (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Cambridge University (2004) - Archaeology and Anthropology (2:1) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • North London Collegiate School (2000) - A Level: History (A) Biology (B) French (A) Maths AS (A) (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • North London Collegiate School (1998) - GCSE: 7 at A*, 2 at A, including English, Maths, Combined Science (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Ilford English tutor, Ilford French tutor, Ilford History tutor, Ilford Religious Studies tutor, Ilford Law tutor, Ilford Sociology tutor, Ilford GCSE English tutor, Ilford GCSE French tutor, Ilford GCSE History tutor, Ilford A-Level History tutor, Ilford GCSE Religious Studies tutor, Ilford A-Level Religious Studies tutor, Ilford GCSE Law tutor, Ilford A-Level Law tutor, Ilford GCSE Sociology tutor, Ilford A-Level Sociology tutor