Information About Alexandra - Southport tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Alexandra's profile picture


This is how 4 referees rated Alexandra:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00


Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00

Map Location

Map for Alexandra (Mrs)


Personal Description:

I am a 40 year old mother of three who went in to teaching as a mature student seven years ago. My main reason for the change in career was because after having my own children I was fascinated with their different learning styles. I found when teaching them at home what worked with one child did not for another. Through studying education I realised that there are many different ways children learn, kinesthetic, auditory and visual being the main ones and that it is important that they are given opportunities to learn in the best way for them.

Tutoring Experience:

I qualified with a PGCE in KS1 and KS2 from Hertfordshire University in 2005 and since then I have worked as a Primary school teacher with experience in KS1 but mainly KS2. I have been at the same school for 5 years now and have consistently been observed and rated an 'Outstanding' teacher. I have also qualified as a 1:1 tutor and since 2007 have tutored children privately and through the school I work at with great success.

Tutoring Approach:

Initially my first conversation is with the parents to see what they want to achieve from the tuition, sometimes it is passing an exam or increasing their level and sometimes it is confidence in a subject (which usually produces the other two outcomes). Then on the initial session I ask the child what they think they are good at in the subject and what they would like to be better at. From these conversations I set up three learning objectives and a success criterial for each objective. I am very happy for a parent to join the first session to be involved in these learning objectives. Over ten weeks we concentrate on these learning objectives with the hope that after that period of time the child feels confident in these areas of the subject and a marked improvement can be seen. I then review with tha parent and child, additional learning objectives can be set up or if all that the parent and child wanted to achieve has been achieved then the sessions can end. Lessons will usually follow the same format as a lesson in school a fun and interactive starter, main teaching which will be focused on a childs individual learning style and then a plenary which will pull together what has been learnt and check the child's understanding.


  • Hertfordshire University (2005) - Ks1 and Ks2 (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Open Unversity (1999) - Ba hons in Humanities with History (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Southport Maths tutor, Southport English tutor, Southport Primary Maths tutor, Southport Secondary Maths tutor, Southport GCSE Maths tutor, Southport Primary English tutor