Skip to main content

Information About Alexander - Clapham tutor

Profile Picture

Alexander's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Alexander:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Alexander offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Latin

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £60.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Greek (Ancient)

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £60.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Classical Civilisation

Hourly Rate
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £60.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi, I am a 22 year old ex-teacher, turned Financial Consultant who wishes to keep the spark of teaching Classics alive in me. I can tutor in Latin, Ancient Greek and Classical Civilisation from GCSE to A Level. I am passionate about my subject among other things. I also love sport: rugby, football, cricket, skiing, tennis golf etc; as well as music: I play guitar and sing. I grew up on a farm in rural Warwickshire so also have a love for all types of animal.

I'd like to think I am fun and enthusiastic and I can be a help to any tutee whatever the age and ability. My motto is that 'natural talent doesn't exist' and I try and get all my pupils to believe this by pushing the boundaries of what they think is possible.

Tutoring Experience:

I have a degree in Classics from Durham University, and I taught a year in Latin, Greek and Classical Civilisation at Cranleigh School, Surrey. I have good experience with children, having been a private tutor to a family friend, as well as be a mentor to children at both Shrewsbury High Prep School and St Roberts of Newminster. Moreover, I used to teach 7 different classes at Cranleigh from year 9 to 13. I also taught classes with 1, 2 and 3 people in them so I am used to managing more intimate academic environments.

I am also an older brother to 19 year old and 16 year old brother so I am very aware of the struggles of anyone still in school.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tutoring is fun, informal, but well structured like a lesson. I first of all need to know in what area the child is struggling, make a plan, and focus in on delivering a good solution to their problem.

The basic structure of the session with be establishing what they already know/do not know, doing a variety of different activities, doing some quick fire vocab/grammar tests, and then finish by concluding what they have learnt that day.

If you wanted a more intense style of tutoring, I am happy to stay at your house for a few days-a week so we can get 3/4 hours of tutoring in the day time. Enquire for details.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Durham University (2016) - 2.1 BA Classics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Clapham Latin tutor, Clapham Greek (Ancient) tutor, Clapham Classical Civilisation tutor, Clapham GCSE Latin tutor, Clapham A-Level Latin tutor, Clapham University Latin tutor, Clapham Casual Learner Latin tutor, Clapham GCSE Greek (Ancient) tutor, Clapham A-Level Greek (Ancient) tutor, Clapham University Greek (Ancient) tutor, Clapham Casual Learner Greek (Ancient) tutor, Clapham GCSE Classical Civilisation tutor, Clapham A-Level Classical Civilisation tutor, Clapham University Classical Civilisation tutor, Clapham Casual Learner Classical Civilisation tutor