Skip to main content

Information About Alan - Largs tutor -

Profile Picture

Alan's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Alan:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £30.00
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00

Map Location

Map for Alan

Personal Description:

My name is Alan . I'm 43.

Over the past six years I developed a successful tutoring business in Erskine, Renfrewshire. In that time I tutored 64 students. My tutees achieved a 97% pass rate. 55% of Higher English tutees achieved a grade ‘A’ and 93% of National 5 tutees achieved a grade 'A'.

In session 2016-17, tutees achieved 14 As, 2 Bs and a C.

Tutoring Experience:

After completing my BA I taught English Studies for several years at the University of Stirling as a Teaching Assistant. My teaching focused on modern poetry, drama and critical theory. I left Stirling to complete my PGDE in Primary Education at the University of Strathclyde before working full time as a primary teacher in Glasgow and Ayrshire.

I took the decision to leave teaching to look after the family. Previously I also worked as an associate lecturer in the School of Education at the University of the West of Scotland where I taught on both Educational Theory and Curricular units. I have contributed to the Times Educational Supplement (Scotland) and have reviewed monographs in a number of academic journals. I have spoken at national and international conferences on both English literature and Education. I am a member of the General Teaching Council of Scotland and am fully disclosed through the PVG scheme.

Tutoring Approach:

With six years private tuition experience, a trusted reputation and an exceptional exam record, I offer a professional child-centered service that utilises modern pedagogical methods. Harnessing the enthusiasm your son or daughter has for particular interests/hobbies, I use individually tailored materials and familiar contexts to engage and equip tutees with the necessary concepts and skills. Whilst my first class undergraduate degree testifies to my subject knowledge, my teaching experience in primary and tertiary education ensures I neither assume prior knowledge of ‘the basics’ nor settle for superficial rote learning. I pride myself on taking a holistic approach, striving at all times to insure that your child's tutoring experience also raises their self-esteem and confidence.

More than a weekly revision of classwork, the tuition works in tandem with school-based learning to enable tutees to realise connections and correspondences that not only cement learning but also directly demonstrate how concepts and skills transfer. Alongside weekly face-to-face sessions, I strive to provide ‘wrap-around’ support during term-time with tutees encouraged to seek help and advice via email. By copying you into all correspondence you can easily track effort and progress.

Supplementary work is provided between sessions and positive written feedback targets key areas for improvement.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • GTC [Scotland] (2006) - Full Teacher Registration (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Strathclyde (2005) - PGDE (Primary) [distinction] (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Stirling (1998) - BA (Hons.) English Studies [1st class] (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Largs English tutor, Largs Primary English tutor, Largs Secondary English tutor, Largs GCSE English tutor, Largs A-Level English tutor, Largs University English tutor