Skip to main content

Information About Alan - Northwood tutor -
(10 reviews)

Profile Picture

Alan's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Alan:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
11 Plus £30.00
13 Plus £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

English (Foreign Language)

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Alan (Mr)

Share

Personal Description:

After a career in IT, I now tutor general and business English and EFL (English as a Foreign Language). I also teach 11+ entrance (maths, English and cognitive reasoning).
For a career change, I qualified in TEFL and CELTA to teach EFL; also PTLLS (Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector).
I have a friendly approach to tutoring and like to adapt my style and content to suit the student's needs.
My basic rate is £30 per hour but I can give discounts for advance bookings.
I enjoy creative writing, reading, listening to music and going to concerts, and yoga.

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught EFL and GCSE English Language to teenagers in schools and colleges and I taught adults on ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) courses.
Now I just teach privately, one-to-one, on week-days only, at my home or the student's home. I live in Northwood and I may need to charge for some travel time if I visit you at home.
As well as adult students I now help several teenagers who are studying for GCSE English Language (not Literature) and I teach 11+ entrance, covering maths, English and verbal and non-verbal reasoning.

Tutoring Approach:

I like to establish a feeling of trust and mutual respect with my students, so that we can work together on their particular goals and ambitions. I suit lessons to the students’ own needs and interests and get the right level of course books and other materials (newspapers, magazine articles etc.) to practice grammar and conversation.
I teach on weekdays in the daytime and early evenings and some Saturday mornings.
I can offer help with general English, Business English, UK Citizenship, study skills, job searches, interviews, presentations, proofreading, CV writing, numeracy, literacy, pronunciation, accent softening, elementary maths and using the internet.

Qualifications:

  • International House, London (2011) - CELTA (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Uxbridge College (2009) - PTLLS (College) (✔ On File)
  • TEFL England (2009) - TEFL (Professional) (✔ On File)
  • Harrow College (2004) - ECDL (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Northwood Maths tutor, Northwood English tutor, Northwood Entrance Exams tutor, Northwood English (Foreign Language) tutor, Northwood Study Skills tutor, Northwood Primary Maths tutor, Northwood Casual Learner Maths tutor, Northwood Primary English tutor, Northwood Casual Learner English tutor, Northwood Primary Entrance Exams tutor, Northwood Secondary Entrance Exams tutor, Northwood Casual Learner Entrance Exams tutor, Northwood Primary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Northwood Secondary English (Foreign Language) tutor, Northwood Casual Learner English (Foreign Language) tutor, Northwood Primary Study Skills tutor, Northwood Secondary Study Skills tutor, Northwood Casual Learner Study Skills tutor