Skip to main content

Information About Aimee - Western Isles tutor -
(12 reviews)

Profile Picture

Aimee's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Aimee:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Media / Communication Studies

Hourly Rate
Secondary £25.00
GCSE £25.00
A-Level £25.00
University £25.00
Casual Learner £25.00

Map Location

Map for Aimee (Miss)

Share

Personal Description:

I'm a 27-year-old full-time English tutor from Glasgow with experience in teaching secondary school pupils and adult learners.

I started tutoring Higher and National 5 English three years ago, putting to use my 2:1 honours degree in English and Creative Writing and my Masters in Multimedia Journalism.

My students learn to appreciate, and even start to enjoy, studying English, and all have gone on to achieve the grades they needed (and more) to progress to their next level of study.

There's no buzz like the one you get when you find out your students have aced their exam with your help. I want to continue using the skills I have learned over the years to help more pupils reach their full potential.

Through studying and from working as a journalist for three years I have developed a strong passion for the English language and how it is used. We can never read too much, with every text having the potential of creating new thoughts and ideas.

Please Note: I teach National 4, National 5, Higher and university level English studies/English literature. I cannot help anyone looking to learn English as a foreign language. Sorry.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring for three years with a 100% pass rate and recently left my journalism job to make it a full-time career.

At university - both undergraduate and postgraduate - I worked as an editor on student newspapers where I helped train contributors in writing, providing full, in-depth feedback on all their work.

I also taught English as a foreign language to a class of 40 teenagers at a school in Malawi for two months in 2007.

Tutoring Approach:

I tailor an individual work programme for each student, depending on their strengths, weaknesses and the work assigned to them by their teacher or lecturer. This ensures the time spent with me goes towards improving the areas they are having difficulty with.

I assign homework tasks and mark these with the students, giving full feedback, both verbal and written, to help them progress.

However, learning still has to be fun and I strive to make sure my students enjoy their sessions, which in turn increases their ability to remember what they have covered in lessons. I love English literature, and I hope to encourage others to love it too.

Qualifications:

  • Glasgow Caledonian University (2014) - Multimedia Journalism (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Glasgow Caledonian University (2012) - NCTJ in News Writing (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Strathclyde (2011) - 2:1 English Studies (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Caldervale High School (2005) - Higher English, B (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Western Isles English tutor, Western Isles Media / Communication Studies tutor, Western Isles Secondary English tutor, Western Isles GCSE English tutor, Western Isles A-Level English tutor, Western Isles University English tutor, Western Isles Casual Learner English tutor, Western Isles Secondary Media / Communication Studies tutor, Western Isles GCSE Media / Communication Studies tutor, Western Isles A-Level Media / Communication Studies tutor, Western Isles University Media / Communication Studies tutor, Western Isles Casual Learner Media / Communication Studies tutor