Skip to main content

Information About Aileen - Stirling tutor -

Profile Picture

Aileen's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Aileen:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
A-Level £35.00£28.00

Chemistry

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00£20.00

Biology

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00£20.00
A-Level £30.00£24.00

Geography

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £25.00£20.00
A-Level £30.00£24.00

Study Skills

Hourly RateOnline Lessons
Hourly Rate
GCSE £20.00£16.00

Map Location

Map for Aileen

Personal Description:

Hi Everyone,

I am Ally. I am into my fourth year of tutoring professionally. Due to a successful academic year I am now a full time tutor. I also do ecology work during the summer. I offer national 5 maths, Chemistry, biology and geography and higher biology, geography and maths.
I have worked with a whole range of students with different abilities. I am flexible and patient with my teaching technique to try and find the best way to help with each individual student. I am easy to talk to and I love having a good chat about how the student is feeling about the subject and what they are struggling with. I feel that self confidence is just as important in an exam as revision. I try to build and reinforce this confidence little by little until the student feels they are able to answer the question independently. I also try to show exam technique, how to study and deduce what the exam question is asking of the student. These skills have led to my students in the last year having very successful results and I hope to help as many students as possible this year.
I also provide learning resources which we use for lessons and can be used as revision material for revision. Availability to online access is advantageous to access further resources during our sessions.
I have an up to date PVG certificate which can be sent seen on request.

Tutoring Experience:

I have four years tutoring experience with over twenty different clients at all levels.

Tutoring Approach:

My lesson structures are as follows;
First 10 minutes: Refresh and summarise last lesson.
15 minutes: introduction and application of new topic.
15 minutes:guided practice examples.
10 minutes: exam style question or challenging example of the topic.
10 minutes:basic skills refresher and review of the topic.
I try to get to know my students and feel that I am there to help. I tailor my methods to each student and I try and find the best methods to help them learn. I also try to make myself approachable to make sure that the student can tell me where they need help and I can adjust the lessons accordingly. I like to have a good repore with the students as well.
I also provide monthly reports to review a students progress and areas which may need more attention for the parents. If there are any concerns or requests, I am open to these to be included in the lesson plans as addressed by the parents. Reports can be biweekly, monthly or per term upon request.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Aberdeen (2016) - Environmental Science (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Aberdeen (2015) - Zoology (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Stirling Maths tutor, Stirling Chemistry tutor, Stirling Biology tutor, Stirling Geography tutor, Stirling Study Skills tutor, Stirling A-Level Maths tutor, Stirling GCSE Chemistry tutor, Stirling GCSE Biology tutor, Stirling A-Level Biology tutor, Stirling GCSE Geography tutor, Stirling A-Level Geography tutor, Stirling GCSE Study Skills tutor