Skip to main content

Information About Adrienne - Helensburgh tutor

Profile Picture

Adrienne's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Adrienne:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Combined Science

Hourly Rate
A-Level £20.00
University £20.00
Casual Learner £20.00

Map Location

Map for Adrienne (Mrs)

Share

Personal Description:

I graduated from my geoscience undergraduate degree with a 1st and started a masters in Earth science. Half way through this I was offered a PhD in the crust-atmosphere coupling and carbon sequestration on ancient Mars funded by the UK Space Agency and in conjunction with the British Geological Survey. Using samples of martian meteorites and terrestrial ophiolite analogues we are trying to estimate how much of the ancient martian atmosphere was locked into the rock reservoir via mineral carbon sequestration. I am also part of the 'ultra-sonic planetary drilling team' in space Glasgow and am part of the team building a prototype rock polisher for the next Mars rover. I am based at the Kelvingrove campus of the University of Glasgow.

Before my degree I lived in India for many years working as a writer and guide. I also worked for three years in the Open University student support team based in Edinburgh.

Tutoring Experience:

In younger days I was an outdoor instructor and mountain guide, which although not academic, still develops the skill of teaching and learning. I then worked for three years in the Open University student services team, helping students with a wide variety of general study issues.

At my present post I have worked as an academic scribe for students with writing difficulties and as an exam invigilator. I have little experience with tutoring and teaching (this comes with time), but do have a great experience of being a high caliber successful student; and hopefully my friendliness and good communication will be more than adequate to provide a useful learning experience to any student.

Tutoring Approach:

I believe clear goals and a timetable is useful in progressing with learning, however, a relaxed and friendly environment is usually more conducive to study than rigid formality. My experience with the Open University has provided good knowledge of 'alternative' personal learning techniques. I'm easy to get on with, very patient, and flexible enough to adjust the pace/level of material and learning as required. Learning needs to be fun, and inspiring.

Qualifications:

  • Open University (2013) - B.Sc (Hons) 1st Geoscience (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Helensburgh Combined Science tutor, Helensburgh A-Level Combined Science tutor, Helensburgh University Combined Science tutor, Helensburgh Casual Learner Combined Science tutor